By Senators Hatfield, Hewitt, Parlette, Carrell, Brown, Schoesler, Rasmussen, Zarelli, Marr and McCaslin

WHEREAS, The Washington State University men's basketball team, led by coach Tony Bennett, and all-conference players Kyle Weaver and Derrick Low, finished second in the Pacific-10 Conference and was a number three seed in the 2007 NCAA basketball tournament; and

WHEREAS, Strong leadership was also provided by Robbie Cowgill, Daven Harmeling, and Aron Baynes, who were named to the 2007 Pac-10 Men's Basketball All-Academic First Team and composed 60 percent of the first team; and

WHEREAS, Tony Bennett has been honored as the 2007 Naismith Men's College Coach of the Year, the Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year, the Associated Press Men's College Basketball Coach of the Year, and the National Coach of the Year by the United States Basketball Writers Association, The Sporting News, Basketball Times, Collegeinsider.com, Collegehoops. net, Rivals.com, and CBS/Chevrolet; and

WHEREAS, Tony's father, Dick Bennett, preceded Tony as the men's basketball coach and helped lay the foundation for the program's turnaround; and

WHEREAS, Tony Bennett assumed the head coach's job this year and led the Cougars to their first upper-division league finish since 1994-95 and their first NCAA Tournament in 13 years; and

WHEREAS, Tony Bennett led the Cougars to 26 wins this season, tying Washington State University's 1941 national runner-up squad for the most in school history; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State University men's basketball team entered the NCAA Tournament as one of 14 teams in the nation not to have lost two consecutive games; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State University men's basketball team has defeated its arch rival University of Washington Huskies five consecutive games; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State University men's basketball team under the guidance of head coach Tony Bennett led Washington State University to success, national recognition, and revitalized pride;

NOŴ, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the outstanding achievement of the Washington State University men's basketball team for its success on the court and in the classroom during the 2007 season; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate congratulate Head Coach Tony Bennett for his leadership in driving the Washington State University men's basketball team to success and for his numerous honors as National Coach of the Year; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Tony Bennett, the Washington State University men's basketball team, and Washington State University President, V. Lane Rawlins.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8688, adopted by the Senate April 21, 2007

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate