SENATE RESOLUTION 8700

By Senators Pflug, McAuliffe, Rockefeller, Fraser, and Eide

WHEREAS, The students of Tahoma Senior High School in Maple Valley, Washington, enrolled in the program known as "We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution," have exhibited that they have learned very well the lessons of our forefathers who wrote the Constitution of the United States. The students will be representing all of Washington State in national championship competitions; and

WHEREAS, This knowledge will enhance the lives of the students and direct their paths as they walk through life, proud in the knowledge that Americans have long stood for justice and liberty for all Americans; and

WHEREAS, Being armed with this knowledge is to the benefit of all citizens of this great country and state and will prepare the students to participate in the democracy men and women have fought so gallantly to preserve; and

WHEREAS, These energetic, knowledgeable young people will one day lead this state and country, and there may very well be in their midst a legislator, governor, senator, member of Congress, or perhaps a future President; and

WHEREAS, Their dedicated and talented teacher, Gretchen Wulfing of Tahoma Senior High School, can take pride in knowing that the students enrolled in this program have the knowledge to outperform university students in every topic; and

WHEREAS, Studies have shown that eighty percent of seniors in high school participating in this program have registered to vote compared to an average of thirty-seven percent among other high school seniors, thereby proving that this program has increased the interest in politics and in participation in government; and

WHEREAS, For the thirteenth time, Tahoma Senior High School has won the first place title at the state championship by answering questions using only their knowledge, memory, and reasoning, enabling its members to represent the whole state of Washington when they compete at the national competition in Washington, D.C., in April; and

WHEREAS, In 2000, Tahoma Senior High School was fourth in the nation, in 2002 they won the Western Regional Award, and in 2003 the "We the People" Team won the top Unit Two in the Nation Award;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor the participants in this program from Tahoma High School's first place team: Wesley Ball, Cade Benton, Sefora Bosancu, Sarah Brown, Tyler Dunn, Kirsten Hamberg, Matthew Hobard, Jennifer Ingertila, Katelyn Jackson, Shirley Kim, Ashley Maxwell, Joshua Pflug, Karleigh Sandwith, Brittany Schmitt, Lucas Simons, Michael Slater, Jennie Taylor, Kathleen Titus, Michelle Wallace, Stephanie Willis, and Nicholas Wold; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of the "We the People" Team, their teacher Gretchen Wulfing, and the principal of Tahoma Senior High School, Terry Duty, to further show the respect of this body for a job well done and wish them success in their endeavors.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8700, adopted by the Senate February 12, 2008

Secretary of the Senate