SENATE RESOLUTION 8738

By Senator Honeyford

WHEREAS, It is the tradition of the Washington State Senate to honor the dedication, teamwork, and triumph of our state's students; and

WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian Knights defeated the Tekoa-Oakesdale team in the Class 1B Boys State Championship game by a score of 38 to 37; and

WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian Knights basketball team, through determination and perseverance, attained a 20-5 record for the 2007-2008 season; and

WHEREAS, The commitment to excellence on the basketball court is an extension of the Knight's commitment to academic excellence and a Christian education; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Dean Wagenaar, Brian Bosma, and Henry Bosma; managers Ryan Burton, Kevin De Jong, Chris Newhouse, and Trevor Wagenaar; and team members Steven Bosma, Steven Broersma, Jesse Brouwer, Matt Crabtree, Marc De Jong, Tim De Vries, Jason Friend, Joel Koopmans, Ryker Van Belle, Rylee Van Belle, Danny Van Boven, and Jordan Vogel have demonstrated incredible teamwork in achieving victory over the Tekoa-Oakesdale team to clinch the school's second consecutive title as State 1B Champions; and Joel Koopmans was named the State Tournament MVP; and

WHEREAS, The Sunnyside Christian Knights were supported by cheerleaders Anna Cleveland, Jenni Crabtree, Annaka Erickson, Taylor Gardner, Devi Knotts, and Vanessa Van Boven, and cheer advisor Lori Gardner;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate does hereby acknowledge and honor the Sunnyside Christian High School Knights boys' basketball team as an example to all Washingtonians of the rewards of hard work and commitment to team effort; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the coaches and members of the Sunnyside Christian Knights boys' basketball team and to Sunnyside Christian High School.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8738, adopted by the Senate March 3, 2008

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate