HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.2009-4648, by Representatives Liias, Pettigrew, Van De Wege, Simpson, and Hope

     WHEREAS, Kenneth "Kenny" Hoefner began his career as a firefighter in 1959, years before fire trucks had power steering or crew cabs; and
     WHEREAS, Hoefner fought fires and provided emergency assistance before CPR and defibrillators existed; and
     WHEREAS, His fifty years of service is the longest known firefighting career in the Seattle area; and
     WHEREAS, In the last forty-three years, Kenny Hoefner has not taken a single sick day, exemplifying his dedication to his profession; and
     WHEREAS, Throughout his career, Hoefner fought some of the largest fires in the area's history, including four fires at Todd Shipyards and the multialarm fire at the Polson Building on the Seattle waterfront in 1974; and
     WHEREAS, Kenny Hoefner established the M. Kenneth Hoefner Scholarship Fund to help the children of fellow firefighters pay for a college education; and
     WHEREAS, Hoefner's personal contributions to the fund have totaled more than $500,000 over the years; and
     WHEREAS, In 2008, the scholarship distributed more than $47,000 to degree seeking children of firefighters; and
     WHEREAS, Kenny Hoefner has served his community honorably and with excellence for the last five decades as he celebrates his retirement after fifty years of dedication to the City of Seattle;
     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize Kenneth "Kenny" Hoefner's legacy of service and dedication to his community and fellow firefighters, and extend best wishes to him in his retirement from the Seattle Fire Department; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to Kenneth Hoefner, the Seattle Firefighters Union Local 27, and the Seattle Fire Department.

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4648 adopted by the House of Representatives
April 15, 2009

Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk