By Senators Shin, Hewitt, McAuliffe, Kauffman, Berkey, Delvin, King, Holmquist, Honeyford, Schoesler, Parlette, and Kohl-Welles

     WHEREAS, V. Lane Rawlins became Washington State University's ninth president in June 2000; and
     WHEREAS, V. Lane Rawlins assumed office as Washington State University's president on June 8, 2000, and was inaugurated March 28, 2001; and
     WHEREAS, President Emeritus Rawlins is the first Washington State University president to have been a member of the university's faculty earlier in his career; and
     WHEREAS, At a time when institutions were considering "privatization," Lane Rawlins affirmed Washington State University's clear mission as a public institution to serve the state of Washington and its citizens; and
     WHEREAS, Under President Emeritus Rawlins' leadership, the university enhanced undergraduate education, advocated substantial growth in research funding, increased enrollment of high-ability students, and helped create a more diverse student body; and
     WHEREAS, President Emeritus Rawlins helped lead Washington State University to become one of the nation's leading public research universities through the efforts of innovative faculty, researchers, and students; and
     WHEREAS, Washington State University has several enhanced new programs, an updated and modern campus, and an increased enrollment from 20,623 in the fall of 2000 to 22,615 in the fall of 2005 thanks to President Emeritus Rawlins; and
     WHEREAS, President Emeritus Rawlins currently serves as interim director of William D. Ruckelshaus Center, a regional problem-solving partnership of Washington State University and the University of Washington; and
     WHEREAS, As a result of President Emeritus Rawlins' tireless commitment to superior education, he has left an immeasurable influence on the state of Washington; and
     WHEREAS, Lane Rawlins had a significant impact on the development of programs and facilities at the university's campuses in Pullman, Spokane, Tri-Cities, and Vancouver; and
     WHEREAS, President Emeritus Rawlins has helped secure Washington State University's place as an institution with the nation's brightest students and highest quality faculty; and
     WHEREAS, President Emeritus Rawlins retired on May 21, 2007, to pursue other opportunities and aspirations;
     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate acknowledge the leadership of V. Lane Rawlins in promoting a "World Class Education, Face to Face" at Washington State University; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize the outstanding statewide advances in higher education and student potential as a result of V. Lane Rawlins' term as president of Washington State University; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to V. Lane Rawlins, President Emeritus of Washington State University and to the members of the Washington State University Board of Regents.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8618,
adopted by the Senate
February 13, 2009

Secretary of the Senate