By Senators Kohl-Welles, Jacobsen, Franklin, McDermott, Kilmer, Hobbs, Prentice, Shin, Marr, Kastama, Hargrove, Regala, Brown, Eide, Berkey, Kauffman, and Rockefeller

     WHEREAS, RCW 28B.10.703 authorizes programs for intercollegiate athletics at our State's colleges and universities; and
     WHEREAS, The University of Washington, as a member of the Pacific-10 Conference, offers intercollegiate athletic competition for student-athletes in twenty-three sports for men and women; and
     WHEREAS, Each sport strives to compete at the highest level, with the goal of winning a national championship; and
     WHEREAS, The University of Washington's women's cross country team completed an undefeated season on November 24, 2008, by winning its first NCAA Championship in program history; and
     WHEREAS, On the road to the NCAA Championship, the team won every race in which it competed by a wide margin, sweeping the top six finishing places with a perfect score of fifteen in winning the Pac-10 Championship; and
     WHEREAS, A remarkable five women on the team were recognized with All-America Honors: Christine Babcock of Irvine, California; Kendra Schaaf of Craven, Saskatchewan, Canada; Mel Lawrence of Reno, Nevada; Katie Follett of Fort Collins, Colorado; and Amanda Miller of Wenatchee, Washington; and
     WHEREAS, In addition, the team was named the 2008 Division I U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association Women's Cross Country Scholar Team of the year, with an aggregate grade point average of 3.28; and
     WHEREAS, Coach Greg Metcalf was named Division I Cross Country Coach of the year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association;
     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate, on behalf of the citizens of the State of Washington, express to President Mark A. Emmert, Athletic Director Scott Woodward, Coach Greg Metcalf, assistant coaches Kelly Strong and Jimmy Bean, and especially to all the members of the 2008 NCAA National Championship Cross Country team, congratulations on their momentous achievement and for bringing acclaim and recognition to our state and the university; and
     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to University of Washington President Mark Emmert, Athletic Director Scott Woodward, Coach Greg Metcalf, and the coaching staff and members of the University of Washington's Women's Cross Country team.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8656,
adopted by the Senate
March 30, 2009

Secretary of the Senate