By Senators Kilmer, Brown, Ranker, McDermott, Prentice, Berkey, Brandland, Tom, Regala, Murray, Sheldon, Stevens, Hargrove, Shin, Hobbs, Kauffman, Kline, Rockefeller, Kohl-Welles, Marr, Zarelli, Franklin, King, Gordon, Hatfield, Keiser, Eide, and Jacobsen

     WHEREAS, The people of the State of Washington celebrate children for the happiness they bring to our lives and the hopes and dreams they have for our nation; and
     WHEREAS, Children are the citizens of tomorrow and it is our solemn obligation to instill in them the values, conviction, goodwill, and fortitude they need to continue the wonderful legacy of freedom, peace, and prosperity we have inherited from those who came before us; and
     WHEREAS, The children of Washington State should be cherished and are deserving of a nurturing and protective environment where they may develop their potential and flourish into whatever they aspire to be; and
     WHEREAS, The children of Washington State should always know that they are valued members of our society, and that their opinions and ideas are welcome and respected; and
     WHEREAS, Children should be loved and treasured by their parents, and all people of the State of Washington should help them by setting examples of what it means to be an ethical, hardworking, healthy, and productive citizen; and
     WHEREAS, The children of the State of Washington should have access to quality education, wholesome recreation, and a safe community; and
     WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate welcomes children into the Senate Chamber on this day so they may witness the legislative process;
     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the State Senate encourages all citizens of Washington to celebrate children on Children's Day and throughout the year by spending more quality time with children and reminding children of their special place in our lives.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8674,
adopted by the Senate
January 18, 2010

Secretary of the Senate