<u>SB 5757</u> - S AMD 155 By Senator Haugen

On page 2, line 26, after "commission", insert ", except for a 1 2 metropolitan transit commission serving rural counties. As used in 3 this section, "rural counties" means counties smaller than two hundred 4 twenty-five square miles or as defined in RCW 43.168.020" 5 6 On page 3, line 34, after "compensation.", insert "However, the 7 requirements of this subsection shall not apply to a county 8 transportation authority serving rural counties. As used in this 9 subsection, "rural counties" means counties smaller than two hundred 10 twenty-five square miles or as defined in RCW 43.168.020. 11 (6)" 12 13 On page 5, line 2, after "authority", insert ", except for a 14 public transportation benefit area authority serving rural counties. 15 As used in this section, "rural counties" means counties smaller than 16 two hundred twenty-five square miles or as defined in RCW 43.168.020" 17 On page 6, line 25, after "applicable.", insert "However, the 18 19 requirements of this section shall not apply to a county performing 20 public transportation functions as authorized by RCW 36.57.100 and 21 36.57.110, or any public transportation system identified in this 22 section, serving rural counties. As used in this section, "rural 23 counties" means counties smaller than two hundred twenty-five square 24 miles or as defined in RCW 43.168.020."

25

<u>EFFECT</u>: The requirement that various transit agency governing boards include a nonvoting member representing labor does not apply to transit agencies serving rural counties.

--- END ---