CERTIFICATION OF ENROLLMENT

## HOUSE BILL 1474

61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

Passed by the House March 5, 2009 Yeas 97 Nays 0

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Passed by the Senate April 7, 2009 Yeas 44 Nays 0

## CERTIFICATE

I, Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives of the State of Washington, do hereby certify that the attached is **HOUSE BILL 1474** as passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on the dates hereon set forth.

Chief Clerk

## President of the Senate

Approved

FILED

Secretary of State State of Washington

Governor of the State of Washington

## HOUSE BILL 1474

Passed Legislature - 2009 Regular Session

State of Washington61st Legislature2009 Regular SessionBy Representatives Orcutt, Wallace, Herrera, and MoellerRead first time 01/21/09.Referred to Committee on Higher Education.

1 AN ACT Relating to the border county higher education opportunity 2 project; and amending RCW 28B.76.685 and 28B.15.0139.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 **Sec. 1.** RCW 28B.76.685 and 2003 c 159 s 2 are each amended to read 5 as follows:

(1)(a) The border county higher education opportunity project is б 7 created. The purpose of the project is to allow Washington institutions of higher education that are located in counties on the 8 9 Oregon border to implement tuition policies that correspond to Oregon policies. Under the border county project, Columbia Basin Community 10 College, Clark College, Lower Columbia Community College, Grays Harbor 11 12 Community College, and Walla Walla Community College may enroll students who reside in the bordering Oregon counties of Columbia, 13 14 Gilliam, Hood River, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, 15 Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Washington at resident tuition 16 rates.

17 <u>(b)</u> The Tri-Cities and Vancouver branches of Washington State 18 University may enroll students who reside in the bordering Oregon

counties of Columbia, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Umatilla, 1 2 Union, Wallowa, and Washington for eight credits or less at resident 3 tuition rates. 4 (2) Columbia Basin Community College, Clark College, Lower Columbia Community College, Grays Harbor Community College, and Walla Walla 5 Community College may enroll students at resident tuition rates who: б 7 (a) Are currently domiciled in Washington; (b) Relocated to Washington from one of the thirteen counties 8 identified in subsection (1)(a) of this section within the previous 9 10 twelve months; and (c) Were domiciled in one of the thirteen counties identified in 11 12 subsection (1)(a) of this section for at least ninety days immediately 13 before relocating to Washington. (3) The Tri-Cities and Vancouver branches of Washington State 14 University may enroll students for eight credits or less at resident 15 tuition rates who: 16 17 (a) Are currently domiciled in Washington; (b) Relocated to Washington from one of the nine counties 18 identified in subsection (1)(b) of this section within the previous 19 twelve months; and 20 21 (c) Were domiciled in one of the nine counties identified in 22 subsection (1)(b) of this section for at least ninety days immediately before relocating to Washington. 23 24 (4) Washington institutions of higher education participating in 25 the project shall give priority program enrollment to Washington 26 residents. 27 sec. 2. RCW 28B.15.0139 and 2003 c 159 s 4 are each amended to read as follows: 28 29 For the purposes of determining resident tuition rates, "resident student" includes a resident of Oregon, residing in Columbia, Gilliam, 30 31 Hood River, Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, 32 Union, Wallowa, Wasco, or Washington county, who meets the following 33 conditions:

(1) The student is eligible to pay resident tuition rates under
Oregon laws and has been domiciled in Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River,
Multnomah, Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union,
Wallowa, Wasco, or Washington county for at least ninety days

p. 2

immediately before enrollment at a community college located in Asotin, 1 Benton, Clark, Columbia, Cowlitz, Franklin, Garfield, Klickitat, 2 Pacific, Skamania, Wahkiakum, or Walla Walla county, Washington; ((or)) 3 4 (2) The student is enrolled in courses located at the Tri-Cities or Vancouver branch of Washington State University for eight credits or 5 less; or 6 (3) The student is currently domiciled in Washington and: 7 (a) Was eligible to pay resident tuition rates under Oregon laws; 8 9 and (b) Had been domiciled in Columbia, Gilliam, Hood River, Multnomah, 10 Clatsop, Clackamas, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, 11 or Washington county for at least ninety days immediately before being 12

13 <u>domiciled in Washington</u>.

--- END ---