C 2020 1			
S-2039.1			

SUBSTITUTE SENATE BILL 5682

State of Washington 61st Legislature 2009 Regular Session

By Senate Transportation (originally sponsored by Senators Haugen and Marr)

READ FIRST TIME 03/02/09.

- AN ACT Relating to the realignment of transportation regions; and adding a new section to chapter 47.01 RCW.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 1.** A new section is added to chapter 47.01 RCW 5 to read as follows:
 - (1) The legislature recognizes that the urban corridors office within the department operates as a seventh administrative region. Therefore, the legislature intends that the regional consolidation in
- 9 this section will result in a decrease in the number of total regions.
- 10 This consolidation will also result in a reduction in the amount of
- 11 regional staff by five percent by July 1, 2011, and a decrease of ten
- 12 percent after July 1, 2011.

6 7

8

- 13 (2) Beginning in January 2010 and completed by July 1, 2011, as a
- 14 means of reducing department administrative costs and providing more
- 15 efficient use of department resources, the secretary shall realign the
- 16 transportation regions to generally include:
- 17 (a) The Olympic region, containing Clallam, Jefferson, Grays
- 18 Harbor, Mason, Lewis, Kitsap, and Thurston counties;

p. 1 SSB 5682

1 (b) The southwest region, containing Pacific, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, and Skamania counties;

3

7

8

9

- (c) The northwest region, containing San Juan, Island, Whatcom, and Skagit counties;
- 5 (d) The Puget Sound region, containing King, Pierce, and Snohomish counties;
 - (e) The south central region, containing Chelan, Douglas, Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, Benton, Franklin, and Klickitat counties, with a connection into Walla Walla county along state route number 12 to the Tri-Cities area; and
- (f) The eastern region, containing Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties, and that portion of Walla Walla county not included in (e) of this subsection.

--- END ---