S-0379.2		
5-03/3.4		

## SENATE BILL 5682

61st Legislature

2009 Regular Session

By Senators Haugen and Marr

State of Washington

6 7

8

Read first time 01/28/09. Referred to Committee on Transportation.

- AN ACT Relating to the realignment of transportation regions; and adding a new section to chapter 47.01 RCW.
- BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:
- 4 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> **Sec. 1.** A new section is added to chapter 47.01 RCW to read as follows:
  - By July 1, 2011, as a means of reducing department administrative costs and providing more efficient use of department resources, the secretary shall realign the transportation regions to include:
- 9 (1) The Olympic region, containing Clallam, Jefferson, Grays 10 Harbor, Mason, Pacific, Lewis, Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Clark, Skamania, and 11 Kitsap counties and the portion of Thurston county west of Interstate 12 5;
- 13 (2) The northwest region, containing San Juan, Island, Whatcom, and 14 Skagit counties and the portion of Snohomish county that includes and 15 is north of Smokey Point;
- (3) The Puget Sound region, containing King and Pierce counties and the portion of Thurston county that includes and is east of Interstate 5 and (b) the portion of Snohomish county that is south of Smokey Point;

p. 1 SB 5682

- 1 (4) The central region, containing Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, 2 Grant, Kittitas, Yakima, and Klickitat counties; and
- 3 (5) The eastern region, containing Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, 4 Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Franklin, Benton, Walla Walla, 5 Columbia, Garfield, and Asotin counties.

--- END ---

SB 5682 p. 2