By Senators Schoesler and Hatfield

WHEREAS, The Colfax Bulldogs captured their first Washington State 2B Girls' Basketball Championship on Saturday, March 7, 2009, winning four playoff games in four days in Spokane; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldogs, who moved to the 2B classification this season after collecting 16 trophies in 20 appearances at the state girls' 1A basketball tournament, came into the tournament ranked third in the state; and

WHEREAS, The Colfax team won the title by defeating teams from Seattle Lutheran, Liberty Bell, White Pass, and Napavine by an average margin of nearly 23 points per game; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldogs led the championship game from the opening tipoff, handing Napavine its first defeat of the season by a score of 56-35 and finishing their season with a 27-2 record; and

WHEREAS, Colfax junior Kayla Johnson had 23 points, 11 rebounds, and 3 steals against Napavine, her third consecutive 20-point game, on her way to being named the 2B Tournament Most Valuable Player, on top of being chosen First Team All-State; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldogs' Morgan Willson was named Washington State 2B Second Team All-State; and

WHEREAS, Bulldog head basketball coach Corey Baerlocher has led Colfax to state seven times since he began coaching in the Whitman County seat with a record of five Washington State titles in the last six years;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Washington State Senate honor the Colfax Bulldogs girls' basketball team of 2008-09, consisting of Morgan Willson, Brooke Webber, Karyn King, Rachel Johnson, Traci Hart, Abby Erickson, Kayla Johnson, Shaina Simonson, Brittney Burke, Emily Shaw, Alex Berdal, Kayleigh Maltone, Rachel Robinson, Taylor Lange, Paige Mackleit, Brady Cornelius, Tom Fowler, Jenna Vuletich, and Corey Baerlocher, on their state 2B basketball championship, Kayla Johnson and Morgan Willson on their well-earned titles, and Corey Baerlocher on his successful career as a coach.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8657, adopted by the Senate April 18, 2009

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate