By Senators Kastama, Jacobsen, Haugen, Sheldon, Shin, Franklin, Regala, Murray, Eide, Marr, McDermott, Hobbs, Kilmer, Berkey, Kauffman, Gordon, McAuliffe, Keiser, Kohl-Welles, Roach, Becker, Stevens, and Carrell

WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 2010 marks the 77th annual Daffodil Festival; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the Daffodil Festival is to focus national and regional attention on our local area as a place to live and visit; to give citizens of Pierce County a civic endeavor where the "Carousel of Spring" comes alive, fostering civic pride; to give young people and organizations of the local area an opportunity to display their talents and abilities; to give vent to citizens' enthusiasm in parades, pageantry, and events; and to stimulate the business economy through expenditures by and for the Festival and by visitors attracted during Festival Week; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in Sumner and grew steadily each year until 1934, when flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Festival's 2010 events are ongoing with the 49th Annual Junior Parade on March 27, 2010, the 77th Annual Grand Floral Street Parade on April 10, 2010--winding its way from downtown Tacoma through the communities of Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting and consisting of approximately 40 float entries and over 80 other entries, including bands, marching and mounted units, and floats that are decorated with fresh-cut Daffodils, numbering in the thousands--and will culminate with the 58th Annual Marine parade on April 18, 2010; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes Princesses Emily Lanoce, Bethel High School; Ashley Alvarez, Bonney Lake High School; Mindy Barton, Cascade Christian High School; Crystal Daniels, Chief Leschi High School; Felicia Brown, Clover Park High School; Sara Davis, Curtis High School; Kaitlynn Barratt, Eatonville High School; Jenae Wilczynski, Emerald Ridge High School; Anne Phillips, Fife High School; Celine Mortensen, Franklin Pierce High School; Tresa Turner, Graham-Kapowsin High School; Ilona Trofimovich, Henry Foss High School; Kelly Hewitt, Lakes High School; Cassaunda Myers, Lincoln High School; Christine Smith, Mt. Tahoma High School; Destiny Sternod, Orting High School; Stephanie Clark, Puyallup High School; Victoria Knight, Rogers High School; Kaleigh Barnett, Spanaway Lake High School; Annie Jeong, Stadium High School; Alexandra Montano, Sumner High School; and Sharsten Thompson, Washington High School;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past 77 years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2010 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8694, adopted by the Senate February 19, 2010

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate