By Senators Holmquist, Benton, Honeyford, Kohl-Welles, Roach, Becker, Fraser, Parlette, Stevens, and Eide

WHEREAS, The people of Grant County voted to establish Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11 in September 1958; and

WHEREAS, Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11 were established on October 14, 1958; and

WHEREAS, Fire District Number 10 is currently served by Fire Commissioners Dwight Vander Vorste, Robert Weber, Mike Moore, District Secretary Angie Argo, and led by Fire Chief Brian Evans; and

WHEREAS, Grant County Fire District Number 11 is currently served by Fire Commissioners Ray Wardenaar, Gary Christenson, Tim Freedman, District Secretary Bob Schrom, and led by Fire Chief Brian Evans; and

WHEREAS, The early and continued success of Grant County Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11 is due to countless volunteer hours and community involvement; and

WHEREAS, The brave members of Grant County Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11 provide fire, rescue, and EMS services across five hundred twenty square miles; protect six communities, agricultural land, and critical infrastructure including the Wanapum Dam and Interstate 90 at the Vantage Bridge; and participate in the Washington State Patrol mobilization plan, having provided apparatus and personnel across the great State of Washington during times of need;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the firefighters of Grant County Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11, who have risked their lives and given their time to create an outstanding fifty-year legacy of protecting life and property in Grant County; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Dwight Vander Vorste, Chairman of Grant County Fire District Number 10; Ray Wardenaar, Chairman of Grant County Fire District Number 11; and Brian Evans, Fire Chief of Grant County Fire Districts Numbers 10 and 11.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8705, adopted by the Senate February 23, 2010

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate