By Senators Honeyford, Delvin, and Hewitt

WHEREAS, Benton REA, headquartered in Prosser, Washington with branch offices in West Richland and Toppenish, celebrated its 75th anniversary at the annual meeting on February 4, 2012; and

WHEREAS, Benton REA is the oldest operating member/consumer-owned electric utility in Benton and Yakima counties, which is an amazing accomplishment; and

WHEREAS, Benton REA was formed on April 19, 1937, with the signing of the Articles of Incorporation which were subsequently filed with the Washington Secretary of State on April 23, 1937; and

WHEREAS, The first electricity was delivered to 89 members in May of 1938 over 43 miles of newly constructed power line with a plant value of 40,000 dollars. These new members used an average of 27 kilowatt hours per month; and

WHEREAS, The first annual meeting of Benton REA was held September 17, 1938; and

WHEREAS, On this 75th anniversary of Benton REA, over 15,700 accounts in Benton, Yakima, and Lewis counties received electrical service as member/owners of Benton REA; and

WHEREAS, With a total plant value of over 100 million dollars, and more than 2,100 miles of power line, Benton REA is now the third largest electric cooperative in Washington State; and

WHEREAS, With equity of over 50 percent and recognized as being among the cooperatives in the State and Nation with the least number of consumer outages, Benton REA member/owners have reason to celebrate;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize the success of Benton REA over the past 75 years as a testament of what can be accomplished through cooperation and working together to achieve a common goal.

I, Thomas Hoemann, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8698, adopted by the Senate February 23, 2012

THOMAS HOEMANN Secretary of the Senate