SENATE RESOLUTION 8616

By Senators Fraser, Parlette, Kohl-Welles, Keiser, Bailey, Rivers, Becker, Frockt, Hargrove, Hill, Fain, Sheldon, Hewitt, Hobbs, Hasegawa, Honeyford, Harper, Holmquist Newbry, Dammeier, Murray, Chase, Shin, Darneille, Carrell, Mullet, Nelson, Cleveland, Hatfield, Kline, McAuliffe, Schlicher, Eide, Pearson, Billig, Brown, Smith, Braun, Padden, Ericksen, Conway, and King

WHEREAS, 2013 marks the 100th year since women began serving in the Washington State Legislature, the next major historic step in equality after Washington women won the vote in 1910; and

WHEREAS, Frances Axtell Cleveland from Whatcom County and Nena Jolidan Croake from Pierce County were the first women to be elected to the Washington House of Representatives in 1913; and

WHEREAS, Reba Hurn from Spokane County was the first woman to be elected to the Washington State Senate in 1923; and

WHEREAS, A total of 253 women have been elected to the Washington State Legislature over the past 100 years, about 8.5% of the total individuals who have served; and

WHEREAS, Women from both caucuses have held important leadership roles as Vice President Pro Tempore, majority and minority leaders, chairs of virtually all committees, and caucus chairs; and

WHEREAS, Washington state has long been a national leader in the percentage of women serving in the legislature and in advancing women's rights in many other ways; and

WHEREAS, Many women legislators have moved from the Legislature to be elected to the United States House and Senate, including Representative Catherine May Bedell, Representative Julia Butler Hansen, Representative Maria Cantwell, Senator Linda Smith, Representative Jolene Unsoeld, Representative Cathy McMorris Rogers, and Senator Patty Murray; and to be elected to state-wide offices including Senator Pearl Wanamaker, Superintendent of Public Instruction; Representative Belle Reeves, Secretary of State; and Representative Jennifer Belcher, Commissioner of Public Lands; and

WHEREAS, Over the past 100 years, women have made significant marks on the history of the state and the legislative process through their hard work, effective leadership, broad influence, and valuable perspectives;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor the legacy of women legislators in service to the State of Washington and applaud their role in our democratic process over the past 100 years.

I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8616, adopted by the Senate February 13, 2013

HUNTER G. GOODMAN Secretary of the Senate