By Senators Chase, McAuliffe, Keiser, Fraser, Kohl-Welles, Hobbs, Mullet, Frockt, Parlette, Fain, Nelson, and Shin

WHEREAS, Civic education is the foundation for an educated citizenry and a representative democracy; and

WHEREAS, In order to adequately prepare our state's youth for meaningful participation in our democratic institutions and processes, it is important to have strong educational resources aimed at teaching students and the public about the fragile nature of our Constitution; and

WHEREAS, Civic education is part of the fabric of our country and is important for students in our public schools; and

WHEREAS, Civic education is a vital tool to promote greater understanding of the legislative process and the role of legislators in a representative democracy; and

WHEREAS, By gathering educators in the state capitol, we recognize the value of civic education in Washington State and establish a forum for civic educators across the state to collaborate with legislators and other supporters; and

WHEREAS, Many organizations such as the Legislative Youth Advisory Council, We the People Foundation, Washington Media Association, Washington State Council of Social Studies, 4-H Know Your Government, YMCA Youth & Government, Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, Office of the Secretary of State, Washington State Historical Society, Legislative Scholars Program, and Service Learning of Washington are dedicated to making civic education a priority for Washington State and its citizens; and

WHEREAS, The contributions of committed teachers, principals, community leaders, parents, state employees, and volunteers help accomplish the goal of these laudable organizations to create an engaged citizenry; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate recognize Donetta Elsasser of Touche, Washington; Brandon Bouge of Spokane, Washington; Kelly Clark of Seattle, Washington; Karin Ashabraner of Gig Harbor, Washington; Lisa Browitt of Cle Elum, Washington; Stephen Cowdrey of Asotin, Washington; Scott Darby of Graham, Washington; Steven Cross of Marysville, Washington as nominees for Washington State Legislature's 2013 Civic Educator of the Year Award; and

WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate recognize Web Hutchins of Seattle, Washington; and Tuck Gionet of Snohomish, Washington as Winners of the 2013 Civic Educator of the Year Award;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on February 18, 2013, the Washington State Senate honor civic education and recognize the responsibility of civic educators across the state to serve and inform all Washingtonians; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate honor, thank, and celebrate the civic educators of the state.

I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8619, adopted by the Senate February 18, 2013

HUNTER G. GOODMAN Secretary of the Senate