## SENATE RESOLUTION 8637

By Senators Dammeier, Becker, Roach, Carrell, Conway, and Darneille

WHEREAS, The annual Daffodil Festival is a favored tradition for the people of Pierce County and the Northwest; and

WHEREAS, 2013 marks the 80th anniversary of the Daffodil Festival, and the theme of this year's festival is "The Magic of Music"; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the Daffodil Festival is to focus national and regional attention on our local area as a great place to live and visit, to give the citizens of Pierce County a civic endeavor and to foster civic pride, to give young people and organizations in the local area an opportunity to display their abilities and talents, and to give voice to the citizens' enthusiasm in parades, pageantry, and events; and

WHEREAS, The Festival began in 1926 as a modest garden party in Sumner and grew steadily each year until 1934, when the daffodil flowers, which previously had been largely discarded in favor of daffodil bulbs, were used to decorate cars and bicycles for a short parade through Tacoma; and

WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival will be celebrating its 80th year during the 2013 festival season with the Daffodil Parade being the highlight of Festival Week. The parade travels through the four cities of Tacoma, Puyallup, Sumner, and Orting and consists of over 150 entries, including floats, bands, marching, and mounted units. Floats are decorated with thousands of fresh-cut daffodils, and the parade is a bridge that links one generation to another; and

WHEREAS, When the Daffodil Parade is over, the Royalty and their float will travel to over two dozen out of town parades to represent and celebrate Pierce County; and

WHEREAS, This year's Festival royalty includes Queen McKenna Erhardt, Rogers; and Princesses Kayla Prewitt, Curtis; Grace Collins, Fife; Annie Litzenberger, Eatonville; Amy Bernstein, Graham Kapowsin; Kayla Williams, Orting; Kabrina Kidd, Cascade Christian; Mikayla Flores, Chief Leschi; Cierra McMahon, Emerald Ridge; Bri Pedicone, Puyallup; Shelondra Harris, Henry Foss; Tara Harris, Lincoln; Carly Knox, Stadium; Zoë Mix, Wilson; Noelle Kaku, Bethel; Suga Iopu, Clover Park; Helena Laubach, Lakes; Marissa Gregg, Sumner; Angelica Maria, Mt. Tahoma; Anna Kessner, Spanaway Lake; Lexie Reyes, Washington; Taylor Friend, Bonney Lake; Bobbi McGinnis, Franklin Pierce; and Jessica Gamble, White River;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival and its organizers for the past eighty years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2013 Daffodil Festival Officers and to the members of the Festival Royalty.

I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8637, adopted by the Senate March 15, 2013

HUNTER G. GOODMAN Secretary of the Senate