By Senators Benton and Sheldon

WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate recognize and value the role and the contributions of the church to the development of our citizens and our communities; and

WHEREAS, On August 1, 1863, six pioneers led by Reverend John Jay Clark and Reverend Alvin Clark formed the Salmon Creek Baptist Church, which later became Brush Prairie Baptist Church; and

WHEREAS, The first pastor, Reverend John Jay Clark, of the church was elected to the Territorial Legislature in 1869, where he served one term; and

WHEREAS, The Brush Prairie Baptist Church is recognized as the oldest Baptist Church in Washington State; and

WHEREAS, The Brush Prairie Baptist Church has continued to serve the community from its present location since 1894; and

WHEREAS, The Brush Prairie Baptist Church has sent ministers and assisted in founding new churches in Clark County, Washington, and around the world; and

WHEREAS, The Brush Prairie Baptist Church has ministered to the greater Vancouver community in both temporal and spiritual needs since its inception until now; and

WHEREAS, In August 2013, the Brush Prairie Baptist Church will be celebrating its 150th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Brush Prairie Baptist Church will celebrate this 150th anniversary by serving the community through 150 unique community service touch points, beginning in August 2013;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize the longevity, perseverance, and contribution of the Brush Prairie Baptist Church and recognize its upcoming 150th anniversary; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the City of Vancouver and the Brush Prairie Baptist Church.

I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8661, adopted by the Senate April 27, 2013

HUNTER G. GOODMAN Secretary of the Senate