## SENATE RESOLUTION 8718

By Senator Schoesler

WHEREAS, On November 30, 2012, the Lind-Ritzville-Sprague Broncos posted a 13-0 season record and won the WIAA 2B football championship with a 21-19 victory over Morton-White Pass; and

WHEREAS, On December 7, 2013, the Broncos capped their second consecutive 13-0 campaign and repeated as WIAA 2B football champions by again defeating Morton-White Pass, this time by a 7-0 score; and

WHEREAS, The Red and Black from LRS were accomplished on both sides of the line of scrimmage, averaging 45 points per game during their 26-game winning streak and holding their three earlier opponents in the 2013 state tournament to a total of 27 points; and

WHEREAS, The Broncos were one of three high school football teams from the 9th Legislative District to win state titles in 2013, joined by the Freeman High School Scotties in Class 1A and the Chiawana High School Riverhawks in Class 4A; and

WHEREAS, This makes the third championship in 10 years for the Broncos and the second for LRS head coach Greg Whitmore, joined by assistant coaches Jason Aldrich, Jason Hilzer, John McGregor, and Mike Lynch; and

WHEREAS, The players who kept the championship trophy in Adams County were Tyler O'Brien, Nick Fleming, Jacob Saetre, Peyton Kiel, Dylan Hartz, Bridger Smith, Matt Leffel, Connor O'Neill, Ryan Whitmore, Patrick Bartz, Kyle Gimmaka, Josh Yow, Damien Rouleau, Andrew Witt, Dane Wahl, Hugh Hennings, Nick Kuest, Dallas Killian, Tyler Frederick, Ryan Frederick, Skyler Oestreich, Colin Sheffels, Karl Hawks, Alexis Guizar, Grayson Whitaker, Nicholas Quintana, Layne Hawks, Jarradd Morley, Dustin Norton, Matt Vercoe, Roberto Valdovinos, Cort Ruzicka, Logan Morley, Hoang Vu, and Alan Field;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate congratulate the entire Lind-Ritzville-Sprague High School football program for its back-to-back championships; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to Lind-Ritzville-Sprague High School and to head football coach Greg Whitmore.

I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate, do hereby certify that this is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution 8718, adopted by the Senate March 11, 2014

HUNTER G. GOODMAN Secretary of the Senate