HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2015-4614, by Representatives Chopp, Kristiansen, Appleton, Bergquist, Blake, Buys, Caldier, Carlyle, Chandler, Clibborn, Cody, Condotta, DeBolt, Dent, Dunshee, Fagan, Farrell, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Goodman, Gregerson, Gregory, Griffey, Haler, Hansen, Hargrove, Harmsworth, Harris, Hawkins, Hayes, Holy, Hudgins, G. Hunt, S. Hunt, Hunter, Hurst, Jinkins, Johnson, Kagi, Kilduff, Kirby, Klippert, Kochmar, Kretz, Lytton, MacEwen, Magendanz, Manweller, McBride, McCabe, McCaslin, Moeller, Morris, Moscoso, Muri, Nealey, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Parker, Peterson, Pettigrew, Pike, Pollet, Reykdal, Riccelli, Robinson, Rodne, Ryu, Santos, Sawyer, Schmick, Scott, Sells, Senn, Shea, Short, Smith, Springer, Stambaugh, Stanford, Stokesbary, Sullivan, Takko, Tarleton, Taylor, Tharinger, Van De Wege, Van Werven, Vick, Walkinshaw, Walsh, Wilcox, Wilson, Wylie, Young, and Zeiger
WHEREAS, Washington State and the nation have set aside the third Monday of every February to celebrate George Washington's and Abraham Lincoln's birthdays, as both of these presidents were born in February; and
WHEREAS, George Washington, the first president of the United States of America, leader of the rebel forces against Britain in the Revolutionary War, and signer of the Constitution of the United States of America is celebrated on Presidents Day for his birthday; and
WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United States of America, leader of the nation in the Civil War, ender of slavery with the Emancipation Proclamation, and writer of the iconic Gettysburg Address is also celebrated on Presidents Day for his birthday; and
WHEREAS, This is also a day to remember the first ladies who have aided our presidents to serve in the past, each one playing her part in guiding and setting an excellent example of how a strong and courageous woman should be seen; and
WHEREAS, It is recognized that this wonderful diverse land, stretching from the Atlantic to the Pacific, is filled with proud Americans who honor those leaders from our past two hundred thirty-eight years as a nation; and
WHEREAS, Our federal government began the honoring of our presidents with Presidents Day starting in July of 1968 when the "Monday Holidays Act" was enacted; and
WHEREAS, The forebearers of this nation worked tirelessly to ensure that we live in a free nation, away from the tyranny of evil, under our own choices, and ruled by those elected to serve the residents of this powerful nation; and
WHEREAS, The House of Representatives recognize Presidents Day as a day to remember how our nation is led and what impacts those great leaders have had on our proud nation;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this sixteenth day of February, 2015, the House of Representatives honor the first and sixteenth presidents of the United States for their immeasurable contributions to, and noble sacrifices for, the causes of liberty, equality, and justice.
I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4614 adopted by the House of Representatives
February 16, 2015
Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk