HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2016-4680, by Representative Nealey
WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington state legislature to recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and
WHEREAS, The Prosser High School Mustangs football team displayed extraordinary excellence in winning the 2015 Class 2A state championship; and
WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Head Coach Corey Ingvalson, the Mustangs went undefeated at home this season, finishing with a spectacular regular season record of 9-1 and an overall record of 13-1; and
WHEREAS, In the first round of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held November 11, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs held the Clarkston Bantams scoreless in their 14-0 victory; and
WHEREAS, In the quarterfinals of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held November 21, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs held their opponent scoreless and defeated the Ellensburg Bulldogs 31-0; and
WHEREAS, In the semifinals of the 2A Playoff Tournament, held November 28, 2015, the Prosser Mustangs' high-powered offense and strong defense united to lead the team to a 33-21 victory over the Sedro-Woolley Cubs; and
WHEREAS, On December 5, 2015, in front of hundreds of fans at the Tacoma Dome in Tacoma, Washington, the Prosser Mustangs defeated the Tumwater Thunderbirds by a score of 22-15 to go on to win their fifth 2A state championship; and
WHEREAS, Linebacker Kolby Swift, with 1:09 remaining in the championship game, forced the fumble which was recovered by lineman Riley Lusk in a play that sealed the victory for the Mustangs; and
WHEREAS, Junior quarterback, Tanner Bolt, was awarded with the Associated Press Class 2A All-State Player of the Year award after throwing for 280 yards and three touchdowns in the 2A championship game, and received honorable mention on the CWAC all-league team; and
WHEREAS, The Mustangs garnered a total of eight Associated Press 2A all-state selections, which included Riley Lusk, David Ledesma, Michael Kernan, Kason Blair, Thomas Niemeyer, and Tanner Bolt; and
WHEREAS, Riley Lusk, Michael Kernan, Kason Blair, David Ledesma, and Thomas Niemeyer were selected for the 2015 CWAC All-League First Team for extraordinary efforts on offense, defense, or both; and
WHEREAS, The Mustangs' defense led the conference in defense, allowing only seven points per game; and
WHEREAS, The Mustangs' offense led the conference in scoring with 601 points over the course of the season; and
WHEREAS, Prosser High School has a history of successful football teams, winning the state championships in 1992, 1993, 1999, 2007, and 2015; and
WHEREAS, Prosser Head Coach Cory Ingvalson played on the 1999 state championship team and coached the 2015 state championship team; and
WHEREAS, Prosser High School alumnus Kellen Moore set Washington state records in total completions with 787 and total touchdown passes with 173, and went on to represent the Prosser community in the National Football League, where he played for the Detroit Lions and the Dallas Cowboys;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State House of Representatives recognize and honor the Prosser High School Mustangs football team for its outstanding accomplishment and storied past of excellence in football; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Prosser High School Mustangs football team and to Head Coach Cory Ingvalson.
I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4680 adopted by the House of Representatives
March 4, 2016
Barbara Baker, Chief Clerk