By Senators Angel, Dammeier, Bailey, Parlette, Padden, Miloscia, Becker, Warnick, Hill, Kohl-Welles, Darneille, Frockt, Roach, Rivers, Sheldon, Dansel, King, Brown, Schoesler, Benton, Fain, Braun, Keiser, Fraser, and Conway
WHEREAS, Washington has a rich history of being a champion for women's rights and a national leader in promoting progress for women, having been one of the first states to grant suffrage to women; and
WHEREAS, In 1910 Washington distinguished itself by becoming the fifth state in the nation and the first on the Pacific coast to permanently enact women's suffrage; and
WHEREAS, Although it took an additional 10 years, Washington's action inspired and reinvigorated the national suffrage movement, culminating in the ratification of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution in 1920, assuring all women in the nation the right to vote; and
WHEREAS, Washington's history would look very different today had it not been for the courageous women who were willing to speak out against the status quo in pursuit of equal rights for all; and
WHEREAS, Susan B. Anthony was a catalyst for change, and spoke on suffrage legislation before members of the Washington State Territorial Legislature in Olympia on October 19, 1871, making her the first woman in the history of the United States to be given the privilege of addressing an assembled legislature; and
WHEREAS, Susan B. Anthony paved the way for women leaders, with 2014 marking the 101st year since women first began serving in the Washington State Legislature, the next major step in equality after Washington women won the right to vote in 1910; and
WHEREAS, Over the past 100 years, women have made significant marks on the history of Washington and the legislative process through their hard work, effective leadership, and broad influence, transforming economic, cultural, political, family, and social issues in Washington; and
WHEREAS, In 1926, Bertha Landes became the first woman to lead a major American city as mayor of Seattle, and gender barriers continued to crumble when Belle Reeves became Washington's first female secretary of state; and
WHEREAS, In 1977, Dixy Lee Ray became Washington's first female governor, and only two years later Senator Jeannette Hayner became the first woman to serve as the majority leader in the Washington State Senate; and
WHEREAS, Washington was the first state in the nation to have two female United States senators, Patty Murray and Maria Cantwell, and a female governor, Christine Gregoire, at the same time; and
WHEREAS, Chief Justice Barbara Madsen leads the state Supreme Court, where a majority of the justices are women, and Kim Wyman serves as Washington's 15th secretary of state and the second female to hold that office in Washington's 126-year history; and
WHEREAS, Cathy McMorris Rodgers, elected to the United States House of Representatives in 2004, is currently the highest ranking Republican woman in the House;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize these women and many others who have served Washington diligently and boldly, and applaud them for changing the course of history and promoting the full equality of women; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Washington has consistently been a national leader in the percentage of women serving in the state legislature, and that the Washington State Senate honor the legacy of women leaders in service to the State of Washington and celebrate their role in our democratic process over the past 100 years.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8648,
adopted by the Senate
March 25, 2015
Secretary of the Senate