By Senators Kohl-Welles, Jayapal, Chase, Parlette, Hobbs, Mullet, Nelson, Fraser, Keiser, Hargrove, Ranker, McCoy, Hasegawa, Conway, Darneille, Cleveland, Billig, Rolfes, McAuliffe, Frockt, Pedersen, Sheldon, and Fain
WHEREAS, William P. Gerberding served with great distinction as the longest serving president of the University of Washington from 1979 to 1995; and
WHEREAS, His steadfast advocacy and bold leadership steered the University through some of its most turbulent financial times to emerge stronger than ever before in both academic programs and facilities; and
WHEREAS, His spirit and civility, his grace and wit, his integrity, and capacious intellect was appreciated across the campus and across the state by students and faculty alike; and
WHEREAS, His success is seen in every corner of the University's campuses, from distinguished faculty to splendid buildings to an unparalleled philanthropic program providing support to all Washingtonians; and
WHEREAS, During his tenure as president 125,000 students graduated from the University of Washington, including winners of four Nobel Prizes, and the University kicked off a new era of public and private support; and
WHEREAS, The University of Washington and Washington state are a far better place for his having been here;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the members of the Washington State Senate express their gratitude for his leadership and exceptional contributions to the University, and that we honor his lasting legacy.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8653,
adopted by the Senate
March 31, 2015
Secretary of the Senate