By Senators Habib, Roach, Fraser, and Fain
WHEREAS, The spring equinox is celebrated as Nowruz, the Persian New Year, a celebration which originated in ancient Persia more than 3,000 years ago, and which was celebrated this year on March 21st; and
WHEREAS, Nowruz is celebrated by nearly 300 million people of different faiths and diverse communities across the globe, and by more than 1,000,000 Iranian-Americans, including tens of thousands in Washington State and including those with Bahá'í, Christian, Jewish, Muslim, Zoroastrian, and nonreligious backgrounds; and
WHEREAS, The United States is a melting pot of ethnicities and religions, and Nowruz contributes to the richness of American culture and is consistent with our founding principles of peace and prosperity for all; and
WHEREAS, Iranian-Americans have made and continue to make noteworthy and lasting contributions to the social and economic fabric of society in the United States, and Nowruz presents a time to recognize those contributions; and
WHEREAS, Iranian-Americans continue to make contributions in all sectors of public life in the United States, including as government, military, and law enforcement officials working to uphold the Constitution of the United States and to protect all people in the United States; and
WHEREAS, Nowruz means "New Day," and represents an opportunity for renewal and reaffirmation of our commitment to each other and to our shared health, success, and happiness; and
WHEREAS, Nowruz is a time for all of us to come together and celebrate the values of virtuous behavior and compassion for our fellow human beings regardless of religion or ethnicity;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate celebrate the honored holiday of Nowruz, recognize the historical and cultural significance thereof, and wish a happy and prosperous new year to all.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8662,
adopted by the Senate
April 9, 2015
Secretary of the Senate