By Senators Fain, Miloscia, and Fraser
WHEREAS, People began to settle in the Federal Way area during the boom in the logging industry in the late 1800s; and
WHEREAS, Federal Way was incorporated on February 28, 1990, and its 25th Anniversary celebration will be held in July; and
WHEREAS, Federal Way hosted the 1990 Goodwill Games in its inaugural year, bringing more than 2,000 athletes from 54 countries to the area; and
WHEREAS, Social service organizations like Multi-Service Center and FUSION have lifted people from crisis and vulnerability to self-sufficiency and stability; and
WHEREAS, The people of Federal Way protect and honor natural beauty, as exemplified by Federal Way's botanical gardens: The Rhododendron Species Foundation and Botanical Garden, the Pacific Rim Bonsai Collection, and the West Hylebos Wetlands Park; and
WHEREAS, Federal Way is home to Olympic Gold Medalist Apolo Ohno and Silver Medalist JR Celski, along with MLS, MLB, NFL, and UFC champions; and
WHEREAS, Federal Way is home to a budding arts community, with organizations such as Centerstage! and the Federal Way Symphony; and
WHEREAS, The city is known for its tremendous cultural and ethnical diversity, bringing together the world's history in the Federal Way community; and
WHEREAS, The city of Federal Way is home to diverse local media outlets, like the Federal Way Mirror and KOAM-TV; and
WHEREAS, Federal Way is the 10th most populous city in Washington, experiencing a 37 percent growth since its incorporation; and
WHEREAS, The prominent growth, development, and success of Federal Way exemplify the city's motto, "It's all within reach";
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor and recognize the city of Federal Way, Washington in celebration of its 25th anniversary; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Federal Way mirror the tremendous economic growth and contributions to society in the next 25 years.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8678,
adopted by the Senate
April 22, 2015
Secretary of the Senate