By Senators Mullet, Fain, Litzow, and Fraser
WHEREAS, The students of the Tahoma High School enrolled in the We the People: The Citizen and Constitution program have exhibited superior knowledge of the Constitution of the United States and the lessons taught by our forefathers; and
WHEREAS, On Saturday, January 9, 2016, the state We the People competition was won by the team from Tahoma High School, marking the school's 19th state championship; and
WHEREAS, From April 22, 2016, to April 25, 2016, these students will represent their state at the 29th anniversary We the People Finals in Washington, D.C., where they will aspire to uphold the standards of excellence for which Tahoma High School is known; and
WHEREAS, These students have immersed themselves in the United States Constitution and Bill of Rights, and their extraordinary understanding of the country's founding documents and principles and formidable debate skills have inspired those who have watched them progress to the level of state champions; and
WHEREAS, The Tahoma team is coached by Gretchen Wulfing, who was named Washington's Civic Educator of the Year in 2011 and who continues to ingrain in her students the importance of learning about American constitutional democracy and the contemporary relevance of the nation's founding documents and principles; and
WHEREAS, Studies have shown that 80 percent of high school seniors in the program are registered to vote, compared to an average of 37 percent among other high school seniors, proof that We the People instills greater interest in participating in government; and
WHEREAS, Tahoma High School has a distinguished record of excellence in competitions at the national level, placing fourth in the nation in 2000; capturing the Western Regional Award in 2001, 2008, and 2014; taking the top Unit Two in the Nation Award in 2003; placing in the top ten in 2012 and 2013; and earning the top Unit Five in the Nation Award in 2010 and 2011; and
WHEREAS, In 2015 the Tahoma team qualified for the top ten and eventually finished fourth in the nation, posting the highest finish in school and state history, for the third time causing Tahoma to advance to the top ten;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor Hannah Adam, Marisa Allison, Stephen Brantzeg, Tyler Brazelton, Christina Diaz, Laurel Dillon, Madalyn Drotning, Elizabeth Duggan, Keegan Fitzpatrick, Davis George Galgano, Brittany Glover, Alexander Goodell, Stella Hagen, Erin Kalb, Amy Kiefer, Sarah Lincoln, Lane Lindblom, Alyna Morvice, Matthew Murphy, Kaitlin Nickel, Kathryn Owen, Joshua Pennington, Kenneth Perincheril, Jacob Robey, Jordan Smith, Peter Thomas, and Megan Warren as "Warriors of the Constitution"; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of Tahoma High School's We the People team, team advisor Gretchen Wulfing, and Tahoma High School principal Terry Duty to convey the respect of this body for a job well done and to wish them success in their continuing endeavors.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8698,
adopted by the Senate
February 3, 2016
Secretary of the Senate