By Senators Fain, Nelson, Hunt, Darneille, Keiser, Billig, Liias, McCoy, Rolfes, Cleveland, Wellman, Chase, Ranker, Conway, Palumbo, Saldaña, Carlyle, Pedersen, Hasegawa, Hobbs, and Takko
WHEREAS, Today, the third Monday in January, we remember and honor the life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., who would become a beacon of hope for equality in our nation; and
WHEREAS, Dr. King used his gift of oratory to awaken America to the realities of life for African Americans and to make life better for all by encouraging change through nonviolent means; and
WHEREAS, Dr. King's steadfast faith encouraged others, as exemplified in his famous "I Have a Dream" speech delivered 54 years ago this coming August 28th, in which he said, "Now is the time to make justice a reality for all of God's children"; and
WHEREAS, Dr. King's unwavering support for the principles of racial justice and social equality helped change America; and
WHEREAS, In his life, Dr. King called on others to make a personal commitment to serve humanity by helping the less fortunate, uniting as a global family, and acting with kindness and compassion; and
WHEREAS, Service is a powerful way to commemorate the words and deeds of Dr. King and to translate our reverence for his life and teachings into action to make our nation better; and
WHEREAS, Dr. King believed that a person's worth should not be measured by his or her color, culture, or class, but rather by his or her commitment to making life better for all through service rendered to each other;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate, on behalf of the people of the State of Washington, and in recognition of the courageous leadership and legacy of hope demonstrated by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., honor his memory by urging all citizens of our state to continue the legacy of Dr. King by treating all people as equal.
I, Hunter G. Goodman, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8604,
adopted by the Senate
January 16, 2017
Secretary of the Senate