## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2017-4611, by Representative Graves

- 1 WHEREAS, The students of the Tahoma High School enrolled in the 2 We the People: The Citizen and Constitution program have displayed 3 great knowledge of the Constitution of the United States and the 4 lessons taught by our forefathers; and
- WHEREAS, On Saturday, January 7, 2017, the state "We the People" competition was won by the team from Tahoma High School, marking the school's 20th state championship; and

8

9

11 12

13

14

15 16

- WHEREAS, These students will represent their state at the "We the People" finals in Washington, D.C., where they will represent their school and area while staying true to the standards of excellence for which Tahoma High School is known; and
- WHEREAS, These students have immersed themselves in the United States Constitution and Bill of Rights, and their extraordinary understanding of the country's founding documents and principles and formidable debate skills have inspired those who have watched them progress to the level of state champions; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The Tahoma team is coached by Gretchen Wulfing, who was 18 named Washington's Civic Educator of the Year in 2011 and who 19 to promote importance of teaching continues the American 20 constitutional democracy; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Studies have shown that 80 percent of high school 22 seniors in the program are registered to vote, compared to an average

p. 1 HR 4611

of 37 percent among other high school seniors, proof that "We the People" instills greater interest in participating in government; and WHEREAS, Tahoma High School has an excellent record of success in competitions at the national level, placing fourth in the nation in 2000; capturing the Western Regional Award in 2001, 2008, and 2014; taking the top Unit Two in the Nation Award in 2003; placing in the top ten in 2012 and 2013; and earning the top Unit Five in the Nation Award in 2010 and 2011;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor Zoe Brown, Noah Casey, Jessica Davies, Jonathan Feher, David Ferrer, Jandrea Grobbelaar, Makaila Heifner, Lydia Kropelnicki, Kieran Lowe, Michelle McLoughlin, Rosella Miller, Calista Moore, Taylor Murrey, Cameron Musard, Amber Neathery, Ryan Nelson, Jared Perrine, James Riordan, Peter Seely, Matthew Simmons, Everett Wall, Benjamin Weaver, and Tierra Wilson as "Warriors of the Constitution"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the members of Tahoma High School's "We the People" team, to team advisor Gretchen Wulfing, and to Tahoma High School principal Terry Duty to convey the respect of this body for a job well done and to wish them success in their continuing endeavors.

--- END ---

p. 2 HR 4611