## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2018-4661, by Representative Klippert

- 1 WHEREAS, It is the policy of the Washington State Legislature to 2 recognize excellence in all fields of endeavor; and
- WHEREAS, The Richland High School Bombers completed their undefeated season and displayed extraordinary excellence in winning
- 5 the 2017 Washington State 4A football championship for the third time
- 6 in their school's history; and
- WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Mike Neidhold, the Bombers
- 8 finished with the exceptional record of 14-0; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In the first round of the 4A Playoff Tournament, held on
- 10 November 10, 2017, the Richland Bombers defeated the West Valley Rams
- 11 62-28; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In the quarterfinals of the 4A Playoff Tournament, held
- 13 on November 18, 2017, the Richland Bombers edged out a 28-21 victory
- 14 over the Gonzaga Prep Bullpups; and
- 15 WHEREAS, In the semifinals of the 4A Playoff Tournament, held on
- 16 November 25, 2017, the Richland Bombers offense led the team to a
- 17 42-10 victory over the Central Valley Bears; and
- 18 WHEREAS, On December 2, 2017, in front of hundreds of fans at the
- 19 Tacoma Dome in Tacoma, Washington, the Richland Bombers defeated the
- 20 Woodinville Falcons by a score of 28-21 to win the 4A State
- 21 Championship; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Richland Bombers' Adam Weissenfels intercepted the
- 23 Falcons leaving only 1:23 in the game; and

p. 1 HR 4661

WHEREAS, For the first time in school history, the Bombers have 1 2 appeared in the 4A State Championship game in back-to-back years; and 3 The Richland Bombers have had the best three-year 4 stretch in Bomber history, finishing in third place in 2015, second 5 place in 2016, and now first place in 2017; and 6 WHEREAS, With a final record of 14-0, the Richland Bombers had 7 their first undefeated season since 1914 when they finished 2-0; and 8 WHEREAS, For their season, the Bombers boast thirty-two senior 9 Christian Mathesen, Casey Perryman, Trey Zorich, 10 Weissenfels, Connor Faucheux, Cade Jensen, Tsega McDuff, Tyler 11 Fishback, Steel Roberts, Jarred Whitby, Brandon Extrom, Conner Smith, Ryan Piper, Parker McCary, Josh Mendoza, Sammy Cervantes, Alex Yehle, 12

12 Ryan Piper, Parker McCary, Josh Mendoza, Sammy Cervantes, Alex Yenle 13 Colton Roney, A.J. Storms, Caleb Chapman, Jax Lee, Mason Bautista

Colton Roney, A.J. Storms, Caleb Chapman, Jax Lee, Mason Bautista, Santos Gallegos, Rene Marin, Ben Dezember, Sydney Bryan, Braden

15 Powell, Jacob Stansfield, Max Hunnego;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the Richland High School Bombers for winning the 2017 4A football championship; applaud the team's historic accomplishments and contributions to student athletics and the community; commend the for their team's players, coaches, and staff hard work dedication; and recognize students, alumni, and loyal fans for supporting the Bombers on their successful quest to capture the team's third championship trophy; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the Richland High School Bombers' football team and to Head Coach Mike Neidhold.

272829

30

31

14

1617

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4661 adopted by the House of Representatives

January 25, 2018

32

33

34

35

36

37 Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk

p. 2 HR 4661