SENATE RESOLUTION 8698

By Senators Wellman, Kuderer, Pedersen, Frockt, Mullet, Fain, Takko, Van De Wege, Dhingra, Brown, Rivers, Wilson, Zeiger, Miloscia, Palumbo, Wagoner, Liias, and Saldaña

- 1 WHEREAS, On May 28, 2017, the University of Washington women's rowing program became the NCAA Rowing Champions; and
- WHEREAS, This is the fourth NCAA rowing title for the Husky women, having previously won in 1997, 1998, and 2001; and
- WHEREAS, Washington won the varsity eight, second varsity eight, and varsity four races, becoming the first team to ever sweep all three NCAA grand finals; and
- 8 WHEREAS, First-year head coach Yasmin Farooq led the team to 9 victory in all nine of its races over the course of the three-day 10 regatta at Mercer Lake, New Jersey; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The Washington women also claimed victory on May 14, 12 2017, becoming Pac-12 Champions after sweeping all five of their 13 races at Lake Natoma, California; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The University of Washington has a rich rowing 15 tradition; and
- WHEREAS, The primary goal of Washington Rowing is the be the very best intercollegiate rowing program in the world, including top performance on the water, extraordinary achievement in the classroom, and preparing student-athletes to contribute to the community;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate recognize and honor the University of Washington women's rowing program as a vital part of our state, noting that these women, with their outstanding

p. 1 8698

- 1 athletic ability and academic achievements, bring honor and
- 2 pride to our state.
- 3 I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
- 4 do hereby certify that this is a true and
- 5 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8698,
- 6 adopted by the Senate
- 7 March 5, 2018
- 8 BRAD HENDRICKSON
- 9 Secretary of the Senate

p. 2 8698