SENATE RESOLUTION

8701

By Senators Mullet, Fain, Wagoner, and Liias

1 WHEREAS, The students of the Tahoma High School enrolled in the 2 We the People: The Citizen and Constitution program have exhibited 3 superior knowledge of the Constitution of the United States and the 4 lessons taught by our forefathers; and

5 WHEREAS, On Saturday, January 6, 2018, the Tahoma High School 6 team won the state We the People competition, the school's 22nd state 7 championship; and

8 WHEREAS, These students will represent their state this spring at 9 the 31st annual We the People finals in Washington D.C., where they 10 will aspire to uphold the standards of excellence for which Tahoma 11 High School is known; and

12 WHEREAS, The Tahoma team is coached by Gretchen Wulfing, who was 13 named Washington's Civic Educator of the Year in 2011 and was honored 14 as one of Washington's Civic Educators of 2016, and who continues to 15 ingrain in her students the importance of learning about American 16 constitutional democracy and the contemporary relevance of the 17 nation's founding documents and principles; and

WHEREAS, Studies have shown that eighty percent of high school seniors in the program are registered to vote, compared to an average of thirty-seven percent among other high school seniors, proof that We the People is linked to greater interest in participating in government; and 1 WHEREAS, In 2015 the Tahoma team qualified for the top ten 2 and eventually finished fourth in the nation, posting the 3 highest finish in school and state history, and the Tahoma team 4 has advanced to the top ten in four out of the last six years;

5 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Senate honor Andrew 6 Bruneel, Daria Cawthorn, Melia Cleary, Jack Duggan, Bridget 7 Duven, Hannah Fitzpatrick, Breanna Glover, Cameron Hanson, 8 Alexander Hessler, Jeffrey Hostetter, Jamison Hubbard, Dakota 9 Huffman, Nassim Kazemi, Henry Kombol, Hannah Molnar, Aliyah 10 Musaliar, Aurora Pompeo, Rhiannon Rasaretnam, Jaden Rayl, 11 Samantha Schroff, Kyler VandenBosch, Riley Wilmart and Katarina Zosel as "Warriors of the Constitution"; and 12

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the members of Tahoma High School's We the People team, team advisor Gretchen Wulfing, and Tahoma High School Principal Terry Duty to convey the respect of this body for a job well done and to wish them success in their continuing endeavors.

19 I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,

20 do hereby certify that this is a true and

21 correct copy of Senate Resolution 8701,

22 adopted by the Senate

23 February 7, 2018

24 BRAD HENDRICKSON

25 Secretary of the Senate