BySenators Saldaña, Conway, Kuderer, Lovelett, Liias, Dhingra, Das, Pedersen, Wellman, Nguyen, Keiser, Billig, Palumbo, Salomon, Randall, Hobbs, Sheldon, Hasegawa, Hunt, Zeiger, Warnick, Darneille, McCoy, Wilson, C., Wagoner, Wilson, L., Brown, and Rolfes
WHEREAS, Black History Month was established in February 1926 by Carter G. Woodson as Negro History Week and was later expanded to Afro-American History Month in 1976 in honor of the nation's bicentennial; and
WHEREAS, It was Carter G. Woodson's hope that, through this special observance, all Americans would be reminded of their ethnic roots and develop a mutual respect for the contributions of all racial groups in America; and
WHEREAS, For more than 300 years as part of an established system of slavery and human bondage, Black Americans toiled and survived, and then overcame the degradation and shame of this system to become contributors at every level of our public and private endeavors; and
WHEREAS, The desire to succeed and contribute to America caused Black Americans to defy racial hostility, Jim Crow Laws, and economic and social injustices; and
WHEREAS, This willingness to succeed and the love for their country has left a positive impact on American culture and society in areas of education, medicine, industry, the military, religion, social sciences, philosophy, agriculture, engineering, and the arts; and
WHEREAS, Black Americans continue to contribute widely to the attainment of peace, equality, and justice, and all Americans deserve to know of the great moments and accomplishments of Black Americans; and
WHEREAS, We honor the accomplishments of the first African American President of the United States, Barack Obama, and the legacy that he and his wife, Michelle Obama, will leave for us all; and
WHEREAS, George Washington Bush was the first Black American to serve in the Washington Territorial Legislature; Representatives Charles Stokes and Marjorie Pitter King were the first Black American man and woman to serve in the legislature following the proclamation of Washington statehood; and Charles Z. Smith was the first Black American to serve on the Washington State Supreme Court; and
WHEREAS, The Washington State Legislature is honored to have among its current and former members the following elected Black American Representatives and Senators: Rosa Franklin, Kristine Reeves, Debra Entenman, John Lovick, Eric Pettigrew, Melanie Morgan, Sam Smith, Michael Ross, Peggie Joan Maxie, George Fleming, Bill Smitherman, Jesse Wineberry, Vivian Caver, and Dawn Mason; and
WHEREAS, There have been major contributions made to Washington State history by Black American citizens including: Civil rights leader Edwin T. Pratt; poet Mona Lake Jones; artists Jacob Lawrence and James Washington; historian Esther Mumford; and musicians Quincy Jones, Ernestine Anderson, and Jimi Hendrix; and
WHEREAS, Washington is a beautiful state, and America is a proud nation due to our recognition of the contributions made by many diverse ethnic populations and because of our ability to work together as a state dependent upon international peace, harmony, and cooperation;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate recognize and honor the African American citizens of this great country and their innumerable contributions, and support the observance of the month of February as African American history month.
I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8623,
adopted by the Senate
February 28, 2019
Secretary of the Senate