BySenators Zeiger, O'Ban, Becker, Darneille, Fortunato, Conway, and Wilson, C.
WHEREAS, For eighty-six years the annual Daffodil Festival has been a cherished tradition for the people of Pierce County; and
WHEREAS, The Daffodil Festival has been an anticipated event that continues to bring communities together to celebrate unity within our diverse community; and
WHEREAS, Since its inception in the 1920s as a modest garden party, it has grown into the festival that we all know and love today and this year celebrates its eighty-sixth anniversary; and
WHEREAS, Each year, twenty-three young women pass through a rigorous selection process to represent their schools as well as Pierce County communities through ambassadorship, community service, and civic pride; and
WHEREAS, Members of the Daffodil Festival royal court serve as role models for youth around our region. Their volunteerism, civic responsibility and willingness to be ambassadors for Pierce County serve as a light for youth to look up to.
WHEREAS, This year's Daffodil Festival royal court includes: Kyla Stout, Puyallup High School; Taychell Lott, Franklin Pierce High School; Haley Beyer, Rogers High School; Katherine Gilbert, White River High School; Megan Van, Henry Foss High School; Linda Tran, Clover Park High School; Chloe Sawyer, Eatonville High School; Sharon Ryu, Curtis High School; Grace Pitts, Wilson High School; Lindsy Hatch, Sumner High School; Yennhi Truong, Mt Tahoma High School; Raegan Frasier, Orting High School; Alexis Owen, Graham-Kapowsin High School; Alyssa Black, Bonney Lake High School; Grace Mattson, Fife High School; Tatiana Crichton, Bethel High School; Emily Young, Lakes High School; Osheonna Green, Washington High School; Abegale McDermot, Stadium High School; Jessica Daub, Chief Leschi High School; Kimberly Lengyel, Emerald Ridge High School; Jordyn Warner, Spanaway Lake High School; and Araya Zackery, Lincoln High School;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington state Senate recognize and honor the many contributions made to our state by the Daffodil Festival, its organizers, and its royal court for the past eighty-six years; and
BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Secretary of the Senate to the 2019 Daffodil Festival officers and to the twenty-three members of the 2019 Daffodil Festival royalty.
I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8632,
adopted by the Senate
April 2, 2019
Secretary of the Senate