BySenators Bailey, Rolfes, Wagoner, Hasegawa, Sheldon, Fortunato, Brown, Cleveland, Das, Keiser, King, Kuderer, Liias, Lovelett, Palumbo, Randall, Takko, Wellman, Wilson, C., and McCoy
WHEREAS, The citizens of Washington state have set aside this day to honor, appreciate, and remember our Navy personnel; and
WHEREAS, The Washington State Senate has always acted to honor those who have served and are serving our country as members of the United States military; and
WHEREAS, The Navy is the military service that secures sea lanes, allowing free flow of commerce to and from our state, and the service whose power projection promotes stability for our friends and deters aggression from our foes; and
WHEREAS, Washington state naval bases consistently receive awards for the quality of life they provide to sailors and family members; and
WHEREAS, Washington state is uniquely positioned, politically, economically, and geographically, to deal with the opportunities and challenges presented by Asia and the Pacific Rim countries; and
WHEREAS, Washington state Navy bases support two aircraft carriers, more than five surface ships, thirteen submarines, and 144 aircraft; and
WHEREAS, Washington state Navy installations provide careers and economic stability to tens of thousands of Washington state citizens; and
WHEREAS, Washington state Navy installations have also received environmental stewardship awards from local, state, and federal agencies, and are recognized as models for other military facilities; and
WHEREAS, Washington state-based Navy personnel and assets regularly deploy around the world to deter aggression, relieve the distressed, and aid America's friends and allies;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the Washington State Senate celebrate the Navy and bring warm greetings and many thanks to each and every person related to the Navy's work and mission in our state.
I, Brad Hendrickson, Secretary of the Senate,
do hereby certify that this is a true and
correct copy of Senate Resolution 8640,
adopted by the Senate
April 3, 2019
Secretary of the Senate