SENATE BILL REPORT SB 5972

As Reported by Senate Committee On: Transportation, March 6, 2019

Title: An act relating to additive transportation funding and appropriations.

Brief Description: Concerning additive transportation funding and appropriations.

Sponsors: Senators Hobbs, King, Saldaña, Sheldon, Cleveland, Fortunato, Randall, Zeiger, Palumbo, Takko, Nguyen, Wilson, C., Mullet, Liias, Padden, Lovelett, Das, Conway and Wagoner.

Brief History:

Committee Activity: Transportation: 2/28/19, 3/06/19 [DPS].

Brief Summary of First Substitute Bill

• Makes additive transportation appropriations for the 2019-21 fiscal biennium.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Majority Report: That Substitute Senate Bill No. 5972 be substituted therefor, and the substitute bill do pass.

Signed by Senators Hobbs, Chair; Saldaña, Vice Chair; King, Ranking Member; Sheldon, Assistant Ranking Member; Cleveland, Das, Fortunato, Lovelett, Nguyen, O'Ban, Padden, Randall, Takko, Wilson, C. and Zeiger.

Staff: Kim Johnson (786-7472)

Background: The operating and capital expenses of state transportation agencies and programs are funded on a biennial basis by an omnibus transportation budget adopted by the Legislature in odd-numbered years. Additionally, supplemental budgets may be adopted during the biennium, making various modifications to agency appropriations.

Summary of Bill (First Substitute): Appropriations are provided for certain state transportation agencies and programs for the 2019-21 fiscal biennium based on additional revenues provided in Senate bills 5970 and 5971.

This analysis was prepared by non-partisan legislative staff for the use of legislative members in their deliberations. This analysis is not a part of the legislation nor does it constitute a statement of legislative intent.

Budget summary materials are available online at www.fiscal.wa.gov under the Budget Bills and Documents header.

EFFECT OF CHANGES MADE BY TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE (First Substitute): Various appropriations were modified.

Appropriation: Various.

Fiscal Note: Not requested.

Creates Committee/Commission/Task Force that includes Legislative members: No.

Effective Date: The bill contains an emergency clause and takes effect immediately.

Staff Summary of Public Testimony on Original Bill: *The committee recommended a different version of the bill than what was heard*. Please refer to the February 28, 2019 recording of the public hearing on the Senate AV Capture All website at http://leg.wa.gov/Senate/Committees/Pages/avcaaudio.aspx.

Persons Testifying: PRO: Senator Steve Hobbs, Prime Sponsor; Doug Levy, City of Renton, Washington Recreation and Park Association; Pat Hulcey, Fife City Council Member; Davina Duerr, City of Bothell, Deputy Mayor; Jay Arnold, City of Kirkland, Deputy Mayor; John Spencer, Mayor of Lake Stevens; Steve Thomsen, Snohomish County Public Works Director; Brian Sullivan, Snohomish County Council Member; Cassie Franklin, Mayor of Everett; Patrick Pierce, Economic Alliance Snohomish County; Andy Thompson, Granite Construction, Snohomish County Committee for Improved Transportation; Jim Hedrick, Port of Everett; Ashley Probart, Transportation Improvement Board; Kit Kuhn, City of Gig Harbor, Mayor; Rob Putaansuu, City of Port Orchard, Mayor; John Kartak, Mayor, City of Snohomish; Nick Barnett, Public Works Director, City of Lynnwood; Kevin Nielsen, Public Works Director, City of Marysville; Mark Freiberger, Public Works Director, City of Sedro-Woolley; Steve Peterson, Mayor, City of Liberty Lake; Heather Kurtenbach, Iron Workers Local 86; Hanna Jones, City of Blaine; Tom Parker, Whatcom Council of Governments; Jerry VanderWood, Associated General Contractors; Brian Enslow, City of Vancouver; Ron Arp, Identity Clark County; Matt Ransom, SWRTC; Sean Eagan, The Northwest Seaport Alliance; Eric Ffitch, Port of Seattle; Mark Riker, Washington State Building and Construction Trades Council; Regan Bolli, City of Covington; Mayor Matt Larson, City of Snoqualmie; Chris Herman, Washington Public Ports Association; Mike Llewellyn, Laborer 292; Gordon Baxter, International Longshore and Warehouse Union, Inlandboatmen's Union, Puget Sound Metal Trades Council; Dawn Vyvyan, Sauk-Suiattle Tribe; Al Aldrich, 360 Strategies.

CON: Tim Eyman, \$30 Tabs Initiative; Arthur West, citizen.

OTHER: Eric Johnson, Washington State Association of Counties; Ken Dahlstedt, Skagit County Commissioner; Scott Hutsell, Lincoln County Commissioner; Derek Young, Pierce County Councilmember; Bryce Yadon, Transportation Choices Coalition; Leah Missik, Climate Solutions; Adam Maxwell, Audubon; Cliff Traisman, Washington Environmental Council, Washington Conservation Voters; Justin Leighton, Washington State Transit Association; Alex Alston, Washington Bikes, Safe Routes to School National Partnership; Vic Colman, Childhood Obesity Prevention Coalition; Logan Bahr, Association of Washington Cities; Michael Transue, Tacoma Pierce County Chamber; Amber Carter, Portland Vancouver Junction Railroad.

Persons Signed In To Testify But Not Testifying: No one.