HR 4607
ByRepresentatives Jinkins, Wilcox, Abbarno, Barkis, Bateman, Berg, Bergquist, Berry, Boehnke, Bronoske, Caldier, Callan, Chambers, Chandler, Chapman, Chase, Chopp, Cody, Corry, Davis, Dent, Dolan, Duerr, Dufault, Dye, Entenman, Eslick, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Frame, Gilday, Goehner, Goodman, Graham, Gregerson, Griffey, Hackney, Hansen, Harris, Harris-Talley, Hoff, Jacobsen, J. Johnson, Kirby, Klicker, Klippert, Kloba, Kraft, Kretz, Leavitt, Lekanoff, Lovick, MacEwen, Macri, Maycumber, McCaslin, McEntire, Morgan, Mosbrucker, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Paul, Peterson, Pollet, Ramel, Ramos, Riccelli, Robertson, Rude, Rule, Ryu, Santos, Schmick, Sells, Senn, Shewmake, Simmons, Slatter, Springer, Steele, Stokesbary, Stonier, Sullivan, Sutherland, Taylor, Thai, Tharinger, Valdez, Vick, Volz, Walen, Walsh, Wicks, Wylie, Ybarra, and Young
WHEREAS, Washington state and the nation recognize the third Monday of every February to celebrate George Washington and Abraham Lincoln, as they were both born in February, and all presidents that have fought for the freedom ensured to us in the Constitution; and
WHEREAS, George Washington, the first elected president, and the namesake of Washington state, paved the way in exhibiting courageous leadership while commanding the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War, and performing the historic tasks of the first President of the United States; and
WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln, the sixteenth president of the United States, ended slavery by enacting the Emancipation Proclamation and composed the revered Gettysburg address, inspiring thousands to fight in the Civil War to end slavery and push for the equality of all people in the United States; and
WHEREAS, Both President George Washington and President Abraham Lincoln exhibited courage and perseverance in the face of adversity, fighting to further the rights of Americans; and
WHEREAS, Both President George Washington and President Abraham Lincoln translated their prior unique experiences into providing a different perspective in the White House; and
WHEREAS, We recognize all the presidents that followed in George Washington's and Abraham Lincoln's call to govern as a servant of the people and guardians for the rights given to all the people of the United States through the Constitution;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this fifteenth day of February 2021, the House of Representatives honor the first and sixteenth presidents of the United States for their immeasurable contributions to, and noble sacrifices for, the causes of liberty, equality, and justice.
I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4607 adopted by the House of Representatives
February 15, 2021
Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk