HR 4648
ByRepresentatives Jinkins, Wilcox, Abbarno, Barkis, Bateman, Berg, Bergquist, Berry, Boehnke, Bronoske, Caldier, Callan, Chambers, Chandler, Chapman, Chase, Chopp, Cody, Corry, Davis, Dent, Dolan, Donaghy, Duerr, Dufault, Dye, Entenman, Eslick, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Frame, Gilday, Goehner, Goodman, Graham, Gregerson, Griffey, Hackney, Hansen, Harris, Harris-Talley, Hoff, Jacobsen, J. Johnson, Kirby, Klicker, Klippert, Kloba, Kraft, Kretz, Leavitt, Lekanoff, MacEwen, Macri, Maycumber, McCaslin, McEntire, Morgan, Mosbrucker, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Paul, Peterson, Pollet, Ramel, Ramos, Riccelli, Robertson, Rude, Rule, Ryu, Santos, Schmick, Sells, Senn, Shewmake, Simmons, Slatter, Springer, Steele, Stokesbary, Stonier, Sullivan, Sutherland, Taylor, Thai, Tharinger, Valdez, Vick, Volz, Walen, Walsh, Wicks, Wylie, Ybarra, and Young
WHEREAS, On the third Monday of February, Washington state joins the nation in recognizing and honoring the lives of all presidents who served our country and fought for the freedom granted in the Constitution; and
WHEREAS, Originally established in 1855 to celebrate the birth of the first president, George Washington, Presidents' Day continues to be celebrated in the year 2022; and
WHEREAS, George Washington demonstrated valor, resilience, and tenacity while he led the Continental Army to victory in the Revolutionary War, ratified the Constitution, and helped found the United States of America on the principle of freedom for all; and
WHEREAS, Abraham Lincoln exemplified diligence as he led the Union in the Civil War, wrote the Emancipation Proclamation to put an end to slavery, and gave the pivotal Gettysburg Address; and
WHEREAS, Franklin D. Roosevelt, the 32nd president of the United States of America, brought stability back to a nation in economic turmoil, and rallied the nation to come to the aid of democracy and freedom during World War Two; and
WHEREAS, The office of the president of the United States is and will continue to be a symbol of hope, justice, and unity; and
WHEREAS, Presidents' Day honors all the leaders who have devoted their lives to serving our great nation by upholding and defending the Constitution and our common values;
NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That on this 21st day of February 2022, the House of Representatives memorialize the contributions all our great presidents have made to the notion of equality, opportunity, and democracy.
I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of
Resolution 4648 adopted by the House of Representatives
February 21, 2022
Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk