HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2022-4657, by Representatives Fitzgibbon, Santos, Cody, Berry, Callan, Orwall, Chapman, Wicks, Thai, Walen, Ryu, Dolan, Pollet, Duerr, Valdez, Harris-Talley, Dufault, Gregerson, Morgan, Leavitt, Simmons, and Young

1 WHEREAS, On March 17th, during the annual celebration of the 2 Feast of Saint Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland, Irish Americans 3 join with men, women, and children of all other ethnic origins who, 4 for one day, become Irish and celebrate Patrick and love Ireland; and

5 WHEREAS, On Saint Patrick's Day, all who wear green live for a 6 day in the spirit of Saint Patrick, Bridget, and Columcille whose 7 1500th anniversary was in the last year; and

8 WHEREAS, Irish immigrants to the United States helped form the 9 cultural foundation of the nation and those of Irish lineage today 10 proudly sing support for Ireland; and

11 WHEREAS, The first documented Irish presence in the State of 12 Washington dates to the expeditions of Captain Vancouver and the 13 Lewis and Clark Corps of Discovery; and

14 WHEREAS, Spokane has the second highest percentage of Irish 15 ancestry of any major city in the United States; and

16 WHEREAS, We celebrate the establishment of the American Irish 17 State Legislators Caucus with its aim of fostering and strengthening 18 the longstanding relationship that exists between the United States 19 of America and Ireland to the mutual benefit of both countries with 20 leadership in all 50 states; and

21 WHEREAS, The songs of Ireland are the tragic songs of love and 22 the joyous songs of battle: The nostalgic reveries of the sorrows and 1 the glories that are the Emerald Isle; and the lamentations of life's 2 myriad travails and the odes to joy and the life eternal;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives commemorate the celebration of the Feast of St. Patrick, the Patron Saint of Ireland; and

6 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Chief Clerk be, and hereby is, 7 authorized and directed to transmit a duly certified copy of this 8 resolution to Senator Mark Daly, chair of the Senate of Ireland, 9 which on this year celebrates its 100th anniversary of the National Co-Chairs of the American Irish State Legislators Caucus, 10 Speaker 11 Robin Vos of Wisconsin, Assemblywoman Carol Murphy of New Jersey, 12 Representative Killian Timoney of Kentucky, Representative Fran 13 Hurley of Illinois, Senator Shannon O'Brien of Montana, and Senator 14 Mia Costello of Alaska.

15

16

17

18

I hereby certify this to be a true and correct copy of Resolution 4657 adopted by the House of Representatives February 24, 2022

Bernard Dean, Chief Clerk