## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2024-4668, by Representative Ramos

- 1 WHEREAS, The students of the Tahoma High School enrolled in the 2 "We the People: The Citizen and Constitution" program have 3 consistently showcased their superior knowledge of the Constitution 4 of the United States and the lessons instilled by our Founding 5 Fathers; and
- WHEREAS, On Saturday, January 6, 2024, the team from Tahoma High School won the state We the People competition, the school's 15th consecutive state championship and its 28th state championship in the last 30 years; and
- 10 WHEREAS, These students will represent The Evergreen State this 11 spring at the 37th annual We the People finals in Washington, D.C., 12 where they hope to go beyond their highly commendable top seven 13 finish from the national competition in 2023; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The Tahoma High School We the People team is coached by Gretchen Wulfing, a distinguished educator whom was honored in 2011 15 with Washington's Civic Educator of the Year award and honored again 16 17 in 2016 as one of Washington's Civic Educators of the Year, adding to 18 the honors of her 16th year academic coaching career, where she has 19 diligently expanded her students' knowledge of the United States 20 Constitution and Bill of Rights, ensuring important principles and 21 foundational ideas are passed on with both fervor and intellectual 22 poise to the next generation; and

p. 1 HR 4668

WHEREAS, Studies continue to show that students that participate in the We the People program imbue ideals of democracy and civic engagement, registering to vote at a higher rate than their high school counterparts and testing higher in examinations on civic knowledge and civic dispositions, including community involvement, tolerant political engagement, and respect for the due process of law; and

WHEREAS, The Tahoma High School We the People team, led with inspiring passion by their coach, continues to reflect the ideals of a holistic education, of which their distinguished record at the national level, having placed, in 2023, in the top 10 for the sixth consecutive year, is a sure sign of their commitment and success;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor Sophie Artemidze, Andrew Baker, Connor Baker, Harika Bavisetty, Rohan Boinpally, Yash Buddhdeo, Slayton Cooper, Kira Corona, Iris Guo, Cannon Harmer, Bill Hernandez, UJ Jeon, Norah Jose, Talal Kheiry, Olivia Kizer, Sydney Kortenkamp, Hannah McDunnah, Sadie McMillan, Tanner Pham, Aditya Rana, Tamar Rasmussen, Dillon Roper, Ivah Rude, Logan Sancewich, Himanjali Tavva, Sean Uy, and Nandini Yogi as "Warriors of the Constitution"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be immediately transmitted by the Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives to the members of Tahoma High School's We the People team, team advisor Gretchen Wulfing, and Tahoma High School Principal Judy Beliveau to convey the respect of this body for a phenomenal job and continued success in their future endeavors.

--- END ---

p. 2 HR 4668