SENATE BILL 5003

State of Washington 68th Legislature 2023 Regular Session

By Senators Lovick, Robinson, Dhingra, Liias, Nobles, Stanford, and Torres; by request of Administrative Office of the Courts

Prefiled 12/05/22. Read first time 01/09/23. Referred to Committee on Law & Justice.

1 AN ACT Relating to increasing the number of district court judges 2 in Snohomish county; and amending RCW 3.34.010.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF WASHINGTON:

4 Sec. 1. RCW 3.34.010 and 2015 3rd sp.s. c 25 s 1 are each 5 amended to read as follows:

6 The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall 7 be: Adams, two; Asotin, one; Benton, five; Chelan, two; Clallam, two; 8 Clark, six; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, three; Douglas, one; Ferry, one; 9 Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, three; Grays Harbor, two; Island, one; Jefferson, one; King, twenty-three in 2009, twenty-five 10 11 in 2010, and twenty-six in 2011; Kitsap, four; Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two; 12 13 Pacific, two; Pend Oreille, one; Pierce, eleven; San Juan, one; 14 Skaqit, three; Skamania, one; Snohomish, ((eight)) nine; Spokane, eight; Stevens, one; Thurston, three; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, 15 16 two; Whatcom, two; Whitman, one; Yakima, four. This number may be 17 increased only as provided in RCW 3.34.020.

--- END ---