S-2041               _______________________________________________


                                    HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4410



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Representatives Belcher, Locke and Anderson



Read first time 3/1/89 and referred to Committee on State Government.



WHEREAS, It is in the interest of the state to have qualified, motivated, efficient, and productive employees in higher education, K-12, and state agencies; and

          WHEREAS, Compensation of employees can affect these desirable qualities in the work force; and

          WHEREAS, There are significant policy questions relating to compensation practices for the various employees under the state's jurisdiction and the legislature must address these questions; and

          WHEREAS, In the next four years the state's initial comparable worth agreement will expire, and further policy decisions will be necessary; and

          WHEREAS, The state's compensation policies create inequitable circumstances between employee groups through the use of different methods of determining salaries, such as peer institution comparisons, salary equalization, prevailing rate, and comparable worth; and

          WHEREAS, The use of these multiple methods of determining salaries can create conflicts and confusion regarding the state's compensation policy, and in some cases has made administration of salaries increasingly complex; and

          WHEREAS, To maintain qualified and productive employees, the state must have equitable and achievable compensation policies;

          NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, By the House of Representatives of the state of Washington, the Senate concurring, That a joint select committee on employee compensation be established to study salary setting practices for higher education, K-12, and state employees, and establish comprehensive policies governing all employees; and

          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the committee consist of twelve members, six members each selected by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate; and

          BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the committee report its findings and recommendations to the legislature by December 1, 1990.