HOUSE BILL NO. 1385


                                                           AS AMENDED BY THE SENATE


                                                                            C 151 L 89



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Representatives Dellwo, Winsley, Chandler, Day, Anderson and Nutley; by request of Insurance Commissioner



Read first time 1/23/89 and referred to Committee on Financial Institutions & Insurance.



AN ACT Relating to mergers, rehabilitation, and liquidation of insurance entities; amending RCW 48.31.020; and declaring an emergency.




        Sec. 1.  Section .31.02, chapter 79, Laws of 1947 and RCW 48.31.020 are each amended to read as follows:

          For the purposes of this chapter, other than as to RCW 48.31.010, and in addition to persons included under RCW 48.31.110, the term "insurer" shall be deemed to include an insurer authorized under chapter 48.05 RCW, a health care service contractor registered under chapter 48.44 RCW, and a  health maintenance organization registered under chapter 48.46 RCW, as well as all persons engaged as, or purporting to be engaged as insurers ((in the business of insurance)), health care service contractors, or health maintenance organizations in this state, and to persons in process of organization to become insurers, health care service contractors, or health maintenance organizations.


          NEW SECTION.  Sec. 2.                             This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect immediately. Passed the House April 18, 1989.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.

Passed the Senate April 14, 1989.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.