HOUSE BILL NO. 1769


                                                           AS AMENDED BY THE SENATE.


                                                                            C 290 L 89



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Representatives Fraser, Jacobsen, Heavey, H. Myers, Inslee, Prince, Wood, Jesernig, Spanel, Ebersole, Rector, Van Luven and Schoon



Read first time 2/3/89 and referred to Committee on Higher Education.



AN ACT Relating to institutions of higher education; amending RCW 28B.15.014; adding a new section to chapter 28B.15 RCW; and creating a new section.




          NEW SECTION.  Sec. 1.     The legislature recognizes that a unique educational experience can result from an undergraduate upper division student attending an out-of-state institution.  It also recognizes that some Washington residents may be unable to pursue such out-of-state enrollment owing to their limited financial resources and the higher cost of nonresident tuition.  The legislature intends to facilitate expanded nonresident undergraduate upper division enrollment opportunities for residents of the state by authorizing the governing boards of the four-year institutions of higher education to enter into exchange programs with other states' comparable public four-year institutions with comparable programs wherein the participating institutions agree that visiting undergraduate upper division students will pay resident tuition rates of the host institutions.


          NEW SECTION.  Sec. 2.  A new section is added to chapter 28B.15 RCW to read as follows:

          The boards of regents of the state universities and the boards of trustees of the regional universities and The Evergreen State College may enter into undergraduate upper division student exchange agreements with comparable public four-year institutions of higher education of other states  and agree to charge participating undergraduate upper division students resident tuition rates subject to the following restrictions:

          (1) In any given academic year, the number of undergraduate upper division nonresident exchange students receiving nonresident tuition waivers at a state institution, shall not exceed the number of that institution's undergraduate upper division students receiving nonresident tuition waivers at participating out-of-state institutions.  Waiver imbalances that may occur in one year shall be off-set in the year immediately following.

          (2) Undergraduate upper division student participation in an exchange program authorized by this section is limited to one calendar year.


        Sec. 3.  Section 4, chapter 273, Laws of 1971 ex. sess. as last amended by section 1, chapter 362, Laws of 1985 and RCW 28B.15.014 are each amended to read as follows:

          The following nonresidents shall be exempted from paying the nonresident tuition and fee differential:

          (1) Any person who resides in the state of Washington and who holds a graduate service appointment designated as such by a public institution of higher education or is employed for an academic department in support of the instructional or research programs involving not less than twenty hours per week during the term such person shall hold such appointment.

          (2) Any faculty member, classified staff member or administratively exempt employee holding not less than a half time appointment at an institution who resides in the state of Washington, and the dependent children and spouse of such persons.

          (3) Active-duty military personnel stationed in the state of Washington and the spouses and dependents of such military personnel.

          (4) Any immigrant refugee and the spouse and dependent children of such refugee, if the refugee (a) is on parole status, or (b) has received an immigrant visa, or (c) has applied for United States citizenship.

          (5) Domestic exchange students participating in the program created under section 2 of this 1989 act.

                                                                                                                           Passed the House April 17, 1989.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.


                                                                                                                           Passed the Senate April 12, 1989.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.