H-1660              _______________________________________________


                                                   HOUSE BILL NO. 2032



                                                                            C 032 L 90



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Representatives Todd, Phillips, Ferguson, Rayburn, Raiter, Nelson, Baugher, Crane and McLean



Read first time 2/15/89 and referred to Committee on Local Government.



AN ACT Relating to parks and recreation districts; and amending RCW 36.69.010.




        Sec. 1.  Section 36.69.010, chapter 4, Laws of 1963 as last amended by section 1, chapter 94, Laws of 1972 ex. sess. and RCW 36.69.010 are each amended to read as follows:

          Park and recreation districts are hereby authorized to be formed in each and every class of county as municipal corporations for the purpose of providing leisure time activities and facilities and recreational facilities, of a nonprofit nature as a public service to the residents of the geographical areas included within their boundaries.

          The term "recreational facilities" means parks, playgrounds, gymnasiums, swimming pools, field houses, bathing beaches, stadiums, golf courses, automobile race tracks and drag strips, coliseums for the display of spectator sports, public campgrounds, boat ramps and launching sites, public hunting and fishing areas, arboretums, bicycle and bridle paths, senior citizen centers, community centers, and other recreational facilities.!ae140                                                                                                   Passed the House February 7, 1990.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.


                                                                                                                      Passed the Senate February 26, 1990.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.