ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL NO. 2386



                                                                            C 198 L 90



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1990 Regular Session


By Representatives Ballard, R. Fisher, McLean, Wolfe, Miller, Forner and Horn



Read first time 1/12/90 and referred to Committee on Transportation.



AN ACT Relating to the payment of temporary permit fees to vehicle dealers; and amending RCW 46.16.045.




        Sec. 1.  Section 46.16.045, chapter 12, Laws of 1961 as amended by section 23, chapter 132, Laws of 1973 1st ex. sess. and RCW 46.16.045 are each amended to read as follows:

          (1) The department in its discretion may grant a temporary permit to operate a vehicle for which  application for registration has been made, where such application is accompanied by the proper fee pending action upon said application by the department.

          (2) The department may authorize vehicle dealers properly licensed pursuant to chapter 46.70 RCW to issue temporary permits to operate vehicles under such rules and regulations as the department deems appropriate.

          (3) The fee for each temporary permit application distributed to an authorized vehicle dealer shall be five dollars, which shall be credited to the payment of registration fees at the time application for registration is made.

          (4) The payment of the registration fees to an authorized dealer is considered payment to the state of Washington.

                                                                                                                        Passed the House February 6, 1990.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.


                                                                                                                      Passed the Senate February 28, 1990.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.