HOUSE BILL NO. 2525


                                                           AS AMENDED BY THE SENATE


                                                                            C 118 L 90



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1990 Regular Session


By Representatives Miller, Jacobsen, Nelson and May; by request of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission



Read first time 1/15/90 and referred to Committee on Energy & Utilities.



AN ACT Relating to regulation of radio communications services; and amending RCW 80.36.370.




        Sec. 1.  Section 9, chapter 450, Laws of 1985 and RCW 80.36.370 are each amended to read as follows:

          The commission shall not regulate the following:

          (1) One way broadcast or cable television transmission of television or radio signals;

          (2) Private telecommunications systems;

          (3)  Telegraph services;

          (4) Any sale, lease, or use of customer premises equipment except such equipment as is regulated on July 28, 1985;

          (5) Private shared telecommunications services, unless the commission finds, upon notice and investigation, that customers of such services have no alternative access to local exchange telecommunications companies.  If the commission makes such a finding, it may require the private shared telecommunications services provider to make alternative facilities or conduit space available on reasonable terms and conditions at reasonable prices((.));

          (6) Radio communications services provided by a regulated telecommunications company, except that when those services are the only voice grade, local exchange telecommunications service available to a customer of the company the commission may regulate the radio communication service of that company.

                                                                                                                           Passed the House March 5, 1990.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.


                                                                                                                           Passed the Senate March 2, 1990.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.