ENGROSSED SUBSTITUTE HOUSE BILL NO. 2709


                                                           AS AMENDED BY THE SENATE


                                                                          C 257 L 90 PV



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1990 Regular Session


By House Committee on Judiciary (originally sponsored by Representatives Crane and Appelwick)



Read first time 2/2/90.



AN ACT Relating to district court electoral districts; amending RCW 3.38.070 and 3.34.010; creating a new section; and declaring an emergency.




        Sec. 1.  Section 2, chapter 227, Laws of 1989 and RCW 3.38.070 are each amended to read as follows:

          A county legislative authority for a county that has a single district but has multiple locations for courtrooms may establish separate electoral districts to provide for election of district court judges by subcounty local districts.  ((As nearly as possible, the electoral districts shall follow precinct lines, follow neighborhood and community boundaries, and include approximately equal population.))  In any county containing a city of more than four hundred thousand population, the legislative authority of such a county shall establish such separate electoral districts.  The procedures in chapter 3.38 RCW for the establishment of district court districts apply to the establishment of separate electoral districts authorized by this section.


          NEW SECTION.  Sec. 2.     In any county in which separate electoral districts have been established pursuant to RCW 3.38.070, the term "district" also means "electoral district" for purposes of RCW 3.38.022, 3.38.050, and 3.38.060.


        Sec. 3.  Section 10, chapter 299, Laws of 1961 as last amended by section 6, chapter 227, Laws of 1989 and RCW 3.34.010 are each amended to read as follows:

          The number of district judges to be elected in each county shall be:  Adams, three; Asotin, one; Benton, two; Chelan, one; Clallam, one; Clark, four; Columbia, one; Cowlitz, two; Douglas, one; Ferry, two; Franklin, one; Garfield, one; Grant, one; Grays Harbor, two; Island, three; Jefferson, one; King, twenty-four; Kitsap, two; Kittitas, two; Klickitat, two; Lewis, two; Lincoln, one; Mason, one; Okanogan, two; Pacific, three; Pend Oreille, two; Pierce, eight; San Juan, one; Skagit, three; Skamania, one; Snohomish, eight; Spokane, ((eight)) nine; Stevens, two; Thurston, one; Wahkiakum, one; Walla Walla, three; Whatcom, two; Whitman, two; Yakima, six:  PROVIDED, That this number may be increased in accordance with a resolution of the county commissioners under RCW 3.34.020.


          NEW SECTION.  Sec. 4.     This act is necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety, or support of the state government and its existing public institutions, and shall take effect immediately.

                                                                                                                           Passed the House March 5, 1990.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.


                                                                                                                      Passed the Senate February 28, 1990.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.