S-436                 _______________________________________________


                                                   SENATE BILL NO. 5368



                                                                            C 160 L 89



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Senators Nelson and Bender; by request of Legislative Transportation Committee



Read first time 1/23/89 and referred to Committee on   Transportation.



AN ACT Relating to urban arterials; and amending RCW 47.26.220.




        Sec. 1.  Section 28, chapter 83, Laws of 1967 ex. sess. as amended by section 23, chapter 167, Laws of 1988 and RCW 47.26.220 are each amended to read as follows:

          Counties and cities, in preparing their respective six year programs relating to urban arterial improvements to be funded by the urban arterial trust account, shall select specific priority improvement projects for each functional class of arterial based on the rating of each arterial section proposed to be improved in relation to other arterial sections within the same functional class, taking into account the following:

          (1) Its structural ability to carry loads imposed upon it;

          (2) Its capacity to move traffic and persons at reasonable speeds without undue congestion;

          (3)  Its adequacy of alignment and related geometrics;

          (4) Its accident experience; and

          (5) Its fatal accident experience.

          The six year construction programs shall remain flexible and subject to annual revision as provided in RCW 36.81.121 and 35.77.010.

                                                                                                                      Passed the Senate February 13, 1989.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.


                                                                                                                           Passed the House April 12, 1989.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.