S-2221               _______________________________________________


                                         SUBSTITUTE SENATE BILL NO. 5469



                                                                            C 162 L 89



State of Washington                               51st Legislature                              1989 Regular Session


By Senate Committee on Health Care & Corrections (originally sponsored by Senators Nelson and Talmadge)



Read first time 2/27/89.



AN ACT Relating to alcoholism treatment facility patient records; and amending RCW 70.96A.150.




        Sec. 1.  Section 15, chapter 122, Laws of 1972 ex. sess. and RCW 70.96A.150 are each amended to read as follows:

          (1) The registration and other records of treatment facilities shall remain confidential ((and are privileged to the patient)).  Records may be disclosed (a) in accordance with the prior written consent of the patient with respect to whom such record is maintained, (b) if authorized by an appropriate order of a court of competent jurisdiction granted after application showing good cause, (c) to comply with state laws mandating the reporting of suspected child abuse or neglect, or (d) when a patient commits a crime on program premises or against program personnel, or threatens to do so.

          (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section, the secretary may receive information from patients' records for purposes of research into the causes and treatment of alcoholism, and the evaluation of alcoholism and treatment programs.  Information under this subsection shall not be published in a way that discloses patients' names or otherwise discloses their identities.

                                                                                                                           Passed the Senate March 8, 1989.


                                                                                                                                       President of the Senate.


                                                                                                                           Passed the House April 12, 1989.


                                                                                                                                         Speaker of the House.